Supplement Four
Mongoose
We used the Mighty Blow for the first time in my game last night, although there was some discussion among the players about how the rule was meant to be used. I think I played it wrong.
In the light of day, here's how I think the rule should be played. You tell me if you agree or disagree.
Mighty Blow.
Players rolls attack normally. After the attack is thrown, the player can decide to use a Fate Point for a Mighty Blow on this one particular attack.
If the player decides to use the Mighty Blow, damage is not rolled. Maximum damage is figured based on the roll.
What does "based on the roll" mean?
It means that on a normal attack throw, a character using a Hunting Spear (1d8 damage) will do damage equal to 8 + STR mod.
If that attack throw is a Critical Hit, then using the Mighty Blow on that throw becomes: (With a Hunting Spear) 8 + 8 + STR mod.
After carefully reading the rule, I think that what I wrote above is what is meant. Last game session, I gave the player maximum damage as if he rolled a Critical Hit when he didn't. I need to change that next game.
Anyway, any comments on the above? Do I have it right?
In the light of day, here's how I think the rule should be played. You tell me if you agree or disagree.
Mighty Blow.
Players rolls attack normally. After the attack is thrown, the player can decide to use a Fate Point for a Mighty Blow on this one particular attack.
If the player decides to use the Mighty Blow, damage is not rolled. Maximum damage is figured based on the roll.
What does "based on the roll" mean?
It means that on a normal attack throw, a character using a Hunting Spear (1d8 damage) will do damage equal to 8 + STR mod.
If that attack throw is a Critical Hit, then using the Mighty Blow on that throw becomes: (With a Hunting Spear) 8 + 8 + STR mod.
After carefully reading the rule, I think that what I wrote above is what is meant. Last game session, I gave the player maximum damage as if he rolled a Critical Hit when he didn't. I need to change that next game.
Anyway, any comments on the above? Do I have it right?