PsiTraveller said:
I bought the Fessor Cargo ship module (excellent ship) and it got me thinking.
The ship is a breakaway based 400 ton design with 196 tons of breakaway hull capability. You can mix and match various modules to meet whatever mission you are on.
The ship has 40o tons with 2 turrets on it. At 400 tons the ship would be allowed 4 turrets.
Here is my question.
If the 196 tons of modules are absent (4 modules of 49 tons each). The remaining ship would be 204 tons and have 2 turrets. If the breakaway modules are attached the ship would have 4 turrets.
Where do the turrets go?
If the turrets are on the central core you could have a 204 ton ship with 4 turrets. This could result in a faster ship with more turrets than a ship of equal tonnage.
If you have a turret on one of the breakawy modules you might end up with a 49 ton module with a turret (or maybe a barbette to push the example even further).
How do you place turrets on your breakaway hull designs?
This process only works if you are permitted to design the core hull in conjunction with the sub-hulls. Each "unit" is designed as its own hull, which means that the 202 dTon hull has to be built as just that, a 200 dTon hull. The four units of 49 dTons would then have to be constructed with firm points. The problem with this practice is that it doesn't take into account the following issues:
A single firm point can be exchanged for a single weapon turret. Since a 49 dTon hull can have 2 firm points, in theory, it can have 2 small turrets (I'll use the terminology of small, medium, and large turrets to denote a single weapon turret, a dual weapon turret, and a triple weapon turret respectively.
This rule allows for violation of the 1 turret per 100 dTon rule right off the bat. In order to fix THAT issue, I'd simply state that when a firm point is converted to a Small turret, it automatically negates the ability to have more than one "firm point" armed with a weapon system. In other words, a 2 firm point hull can either be armed with a small turret weapon OR two firm points, but not both.
There is a reason for that line of thinking:
If you have a 400 dTon hull - the most weapons it can be armed with are: 4 x 3 or 12 single weapons. Note that a Triple turret takes 3 out of the 12 in a single shot. But bear with me...
If you have four hulls of 49 dTons - each armed with a single turret - that is 4 weapons total. Add to this the turret totals of 6 weapons possible on the 202 dTon hull, and you end up with 10 weapons. This is less than the 12 possible.
But, even if we went with 2 firm points per module - four modules...
That's 8 firm points plus 6 weapons.
Now for the difference in combat with that monstrosity:
8 weapons have been made such that:
1) weapon ranges are reduced such that none may be greater than "close range"
2) weapons with ranges medium or less are reduced in range to "adjacent"
Pulse Lasers drop from Long range to Close Range
Beam Lasers drop to Adjacent Range
Missile racks also suffer somewhat in that they lose 2/3rds of their ammunition capacity as compared against a standard Turret.
Now come the next question...
per the rules it says this:
"This whole process consumes 2% of the combined hull tonnage for the extra bulkheads and connections needed, and costs an additional MCr2 per ton consumed."
Think about that for a second.
Logically, if one has this cost as a one time cost regardless of how many sub-hulls there are, and these "things" purchased for 2 MCr per ton consumed has to be links that keep the hulls together, permit power couplings etc between hulls - a single ship with two sub-hulls, will have stronger connections between each other if there are only two sub-hulls than if it has 3 sub-hulls. These "links" are supposed to render the two sub-hulls immune to issues such as acceleration etc so that they might operate as a single hull right?
I have a strong sneaking suspicion that the 2% cost is PER additional sub-hull. Put another way? Suppose you're dealing with a single "Hull" that has two sub-hull components. Combined Hull capacity is 1000 dTons. 2% of that works out to be 20 tons right?
Now, if 20 tons handles the two hulls, but you take the interpretation that the 2% is a one time cost, then you're looking at a total of 20 tons keeps the ship operating as a whole and supports the single sub-hull at any given rate. If you assume that the 2% "extras" goes into the MAIN core hull, then 20 dTons supports the second sub-hull. Add a THIRD sub-hull, and now the 20 that was dedicated to handling 2 hulls, is split now between 3 hulls instead.
Since I don't have access to the material, I don't know if they followed it as 2% per additional sub-hull added to the core hull or not. But if they don't handle it that way, then there is an inherent "logic" issue here that if I were to play MgT - I'd house rule immediately.
Last but not least...
Firmpoints are FIXED arc weapons (usually forward facing). Despite having more of them, they do less damage AND they are limited in arc of enemy engagement.
All I can say at this point is that the rules are rather specific: you combine the elements together from its component parts. You don't get to add hard points because when combined, they equal a larger ship. The Core unit, designed as a 202 dTon hull remains a 202 dTon hull throughout the entire process from start to finish.