[BF:Evo] AA reaction question (Updated w/second question)

Rabidchild

Mongoose
This has been discussed at length both on EvoCommand and here on the Mongoose boards so official answers only please.

Question first posted by Slider in both forums.

Player 1 has an air unit; player 2 has a unit with AA capability.

Player 1 moves his air unit so that it ends its movement off the table. As a second action, it performs a shoot (bomb) action, which per the rules can place an FZ anywhere along its flightpath. Suppose, in fact, the air unit drops a bomb on the AA unit.

Question: can player 2 react, and if so, when?
Player 2 would dearly like to use his AA to try to shoot down the air unit.
Player 1's air ends its move off the table, thus out of reaction range. The bombing FZ, since it's on top of the AA, is definitely in range.

So, can Player 2's AA react:
1. During/right after player 1's movement (at the point where the bombing FZ will be created)?
2. After the shoot (bomb) is resolved, treating that as an action completed within its reaction range? Thus, if the bomb destroyed the AA, no reaction fire possible?
3. Or, not at all in this scenario?

+Edited to update subject line
 
Thank you for the quick reply. I should have posted this question at the same time:

In the above question it says that the aircraft (now off the table) takes a bomb action. Is that:

A) Just fine, the unit is immune to retaliation.
B) Not possible, units must be on the table to take an action.
C) Just fine, the unit is considered to be above the FZ it creates with the shoot(bomb) action along its flightpath for purposes of AA reactions.
D) None of the above.
 
Back
Top