Become Beast Spell Question

supercharlio

Mongoose
Hello. I'm currently in a Conan campaign that I've been overly enjoying thus far and I just have one simple question I need answered. I recently leveled during our last session and I'm ready to pick out a new spell. I recently bought a copy of The Secret of Skelos and was browsing through the text when I came upon the spell Become Beast in the Nature Magic section. I have that as a spell style and I meet the prerequisites for the actual spell. My only concern is this part here:

This spell enables the sorcerer to assume the form of any
single non-unique animal (any creature of the animal
type) from Fine to Colossal size. The assumed form
cannot have more than twice his scholar level in Hit Dice
(to a maximum of 40 HD).
- The Secret of Skelos

Now I'm an idiot when it comes to this stuff so I just needed to know. When I choose the animal I can transform into must its hit die be below my hit die times two OR can I choose any animal but when I transform my actual Health can only be twice my scholar level. I'm so confused.
 
Hellosupercharlio, and welcome to the posts. If you cast this spell as a 4th level scholar you can transform into an animal of up to 8 hd. Say a large Alligator advancement.
If you cast it as a 9th level noble/4th level Scholar its still the same thing. It's up to twice the Scholar level in hit dice.
Also note that once chosen the Spell always results in you transforming into the same creature. Until you take the spell again and choose an additional form that is.
I'm waiting to see if my PC Scholar has noted that.
 
Ok. Thanks for clearing that up for me. I just went sixth level so I can go up to at least 12HD. I think a Huge Scorpion will be fun to transform into. I'll have to give that a whirl.
 
supercharlio said:
Ok. Thanks for clearing that up for me. I just went sixth level so I can go up to at least 12HD. I think a Huge Scorpion will be fun to transform into. I'll have to give that a whirl.

If you are playing strictly rules as written, that is not possible. You see, scorpions and spiders are vermin while the spell says animal. They are different types in D20. Animals are generally mammals, birds and reptiles while insects and insect-like creatures are vermin. (Yes, spiders are not insects, that's why I say "insect-like".) So it really is up to your GM and group in general, if vermin are allowed with that spell.
 
Yea I was concerned about that first but the GM made a ruling that it is listed under the animal category in the Bestiary and the spell does specify that an animal can have a subtype. The Scorpion is a vermin subtype but is still considered an animal according to the Bestiary so transforming into one shouldn't be a problem.
 
I can see using culture specific house rules. Years ago when all that was out was GURPS Conan I allowed the Lemurian Shaman to change into a Saber Tooth Tiger.
 
OK I use the Atlantean edition not the new stuff, and in the original Scrolls of Skelos, I noticed that the "Dragon" from Red Nails qualified as an "Animal" type. Boo-yah!!!
 
Jeffreywns said:
Also note that once chosen the Spell always results in you transforming into the same creature. Until you take the spell again and choose an additional form that is.
I'm waiting to see if my PC Scholar has noted that.

Errr.... I read the spell different. It says "(any creature of the animal
type)" Not "any one creature". So I would think that you can choose the animal shape every time you cast the spell.
 
"Must choose the type of animalwhen he first casts this spelland will use the same form every time he casts this spell again."

Seems clear only one type. But of course no reason to limit your players to that if thats what you want.
 
The Oriental Magic spell Shape-Shifter is the more potent, choose form as you need spell. It's also the one the Stygian in my party took.
 
Back
Top