Auxillary Craft in the Campaign.

Skipper

Mongoose
This series of Questions deals with recovering Auxillary craft in the Repair and Reinforcement phase

Ships with the Carrier trait can regenerate 2 per turn.


1. When a ship is sent home to be reworked, does it regain all its fighter/auxillary complement?

2. Or do the fighters still need to be paid for individually after the initial cost of the first ship?

3. What about Drakh Raiders, do they get regenerated as fighters by the Carier and Mothership?

4. If fighters do regenerate when the ship returns to fleet command for complete refits, do the Drakh and others (Narn with Sho'Kos) onboard regenerate their ships?

This is not clear in the rules as far as I can tell and we are looking for an official ruling.

Skipper
 
Just to clarify,

The Drakh mothership can be sent home empty and three turns later automatically has eight new heavy raider? That seems very overbalanced in a campaign game. Is this right?
 
I'd agree with Matt on this one, your biggest vessel is gone for 2 full campaign turns, that puts you on the back foot straight away. The 2 turns stand down would also include any or all of the 8 original craft which have still survived as well, any battle which damages the Mothership so heavily and takes out the 8 raiders in the hold has to have been one hell of a battle.
 
Wow...

Not how we had played it. Given the rule on buying replacements on page 190 I am not really sure where this ruling comes from. The Drahk can in effect get a total of 80 RR for sending their war ship back for two turns. The Posiedon gets 25 RR (maybe 30 due to the breakdown) back and everything else is a odd break.

Okay...

Related questions then,

Can you change you load out while it is back being refitted. IE if you had started a Drahk Carrier with a scout and three heavy raiders can you come back with four light raiders? Can a Centauri Balvarix switch out for Rutarians or must he pay for the upgrades? Can he switch for Raziks to increase his dogfight capability?

Is this true for casual carriers as well as ships with the carrier/fleet carrier trait?

Thanks for jumping on this thread, I would not have thought that. I am judging for a campaing now and glad to have an official ruling to go off of.

Ripple
 
msprange said:
4. Sorry, not understanding completely. . .

I think the question here is this:

A Mothership drops out 8 raiders in a game. 4 of said raiders get killed and the mothership takes damage (enough that the Drakh player decides to send it back to Fleet Command).

Do the 4 surviving raiders go with the surviving mothership to Fleet Command

or

Can the Drakh player send the mothership back empty, add the surviving raiders to his fleet roster, and then 2 turns later have a Mothership back with 8 additional raiders on board (and thus have a net gain of 4 raiders he didn't pay for).
 
The drakh player locally has three motherships and basically never is without a mothership. He sends one home each turn and saves all his RR for new additional mother ships and scouts. I can live with the ruling, but as the previous post states, can he off load his surviving raiders before sending her back.

We have housed rules at this point that any raider aquired on a crier or motership can only be deployed as an auxillary. They can not be deployed individually.

What we see happening is that the Drahk player can effectively keep the mothership out of harms way and with all the initiative sinks provided for by the raiders, she is never targeted. The battle generally plays out where the Drakh player really only risks his raiders which are often the only thing remaining after the mother ship jumps off and the few scouts are eliminated. The drahk have no fear of loosing raiders as he has a steady supply of them returning every turn from the mother ship. In fact, the mothership seldom leaves her back board edge.
 
I would treat raiders like aux craft. They cannot be transferred out of a ship to form independent wings.
 
You would think so, but with a few good rounds he has built up a very large force that we have not been able to touch. He always goes -3 on PL size, so the best we can do is a level roll.

To be truthfull, I really don't mind him replacing the raiders, its just the fact that they count as "ships" for victory conditions and can hold the table so to speak while his real fleet has already skipped out. He has no incentive to withdraw the raiders to salvage what he can, they are just expendable.

We are playing the campaign straight up, so I'm not really too worried, heck, I even let the other players select the fleet I was to play, They waivered between Raiders and Vree and finally settled on Vree. So its obvious I don't mind loosing. Though I was surprised they didn't choose the raiders for me. I actually view this as a challenge to overcome. (Rubs hands together with glee). Our next battle is a seven point skirmish Call to Arms scenario and I'm actually looing forward to how I fare. I think I might have him this time if luck holds out.
 
The problem though is. You cant from Raiders into independent auxiliaries, But you can send Carriers back home to recrew Motherships.

You can always be short a battle lvl ship or two. If you need those, youre overstretched anyway.

Just like using Morshins to recrew Sharlins.
 
Back
Top