Assassination Query

KennyBoy

Mongoose
If the assassination target runs off the board, would the attacker gain 1/4 vps for the ship plus the 10pts that would normally be awarded for destroying it... OR 1/4 of the total vps?

example: A Sharlin is the target in a 5 pt War Assassination scenario; for destroying it, my opponent would gain 10 points because the ship is the same priority as the scenario PLUS the 10 points bonus that the scenario awards for killing it = 20pt (nice and simple)
However, if the Sharlin gets off the board, does the attacker gain 13pts (1/4 of the 10 normal, plus the bonus) OR does he only garner 5pts (a 1/4 of the combined worth of killing said Sharlin) :?:

Comments gentlemen please... 8)
 
If it makes a tactical withdraw you get VPs as listed.

Withdrawing the ship does not get you the bonus points as it is your job to assassinate them, and there job to servive / escape.
 
I agree with the above. you shouldn't get any bonus points if your target has legged it.
man assasinating a Sharlin, tough one. . . whats that, you have a fleet made up of nothing but G'Vrahns?? sounds like a winning situation ;-)
 
Tsk tsk tsk Ken....and i thought the Boneheads were not scared of Earth Force. All this talk of running away. Seems the Boneheads have lost their nerve, their surrender at the Battle of the Line must have unmanned the Minbari Commander. :)
 
I only put forward the question to avoid possible queries... IF the EA manage to get a lucky hit, I wouldn't want to give a ton of VP's away just to assuage my pride... besides it would be Dave's ddecision in the end! :P
 
Well have taken on Alistairs blood lust for killing things and watching big explosions.

As long as we can face Minbari Warrior Caste and not Religious Caste Blood Thirsty will be happy :D
 
It is a good point though.

There is no drawback to withdrawing that ship. And by removing it you deny your oponent the ability to get double VPs.

Also don't go it's impossible to know which ship it is. Since it has to be the highest point level ship you could under buy all but 1 ship then you know exactly which ship it is and it withdraws from battle stright away.

mmmmmmmm
 
skavendan said:
It is a good point though.

There is no drawback to withdrawing that ship. And by removing it you deny your oponent the ability to get double VPs.

Also don't go it's impossible to know which ship it is. Since it has to be the highest point level ship you could under buy all but 1 ship then you know exactly which ship it is and it withdraws from battle stright away.

mmmmmmmm

higly dependent upon ship, a Whitestar or something speedily equivalent will easily get away, the Abbai on the other hand with their slow as snails approach really suffer. But then there are numerous scenarios where Whitestars and drakh will walk it
 
Not really as it will almost certainly have a Jump Engine. first turn open jump point. second turn gone. Doesn't leave a great deal of room to escape.
 
gives you a whole turn of concentrated fire on that one ship? admitedly against a Sharlin thats not much. you could knock out it's jump engine?!
 
Do not discount in Assasination you can jump in amoungst the Boneheads (esp if you have AJE).

A few Break Stealth ships and AJE equiped ships may make it interesting
 
Clanger said:
Do not discount in Assasination you can jump in amoungst the Boneheads (esp if you have AJE).

A few Break Stealth ships and AJE equiped ships may make it interesting

you jump in they jump out still a no no as the ship escapes in the move part before you get a chance to hit it.

Only way round them jumping out I can see is if you warp bomb them with AJE. And hope to batter it enough for your ships on the table to finish the rest.
 
There is no drawback to withdrawing that ship. And by removing it you deny your opponent the ability to get double VPs.

Remember that this is essentially a normal VP game with the target as a bonus (for both sides). So if the target flies off at the start of the battle then they've lost 1/4 VP's and 1 of their big ships for nothing.

I'd love my opponent to just escape on turn 1. Gives me a big advantage in FAP's left on the table.
 
mollari_uk said:
There is no drawback to withdrawing that ship. And by removing it you deny your opponent the ability to get double VPs.

Remember that this is essentially a normal VP game with the target as a bonus (for both sides). So if the target flies off at the start of the battle then they've lost 1/4 VP's and 1 of their big ships for nothing.

I'd love my opponent to just escape on turn 1. Gives me a big advantage in FAP's left on the table.

True, You'll have to bring your Shadow ships round again. Really like the paint job you did on them. Can't wait to see your Vorlons
 
It happened to me in a tourney, when my opponent had a Morshin which dumped its fighters and legged it. Matt ruled it did not give any additional points for withdrawing.
 
I just reread the Assasination Scenario in my rulebook, I could find no mention of double VPs for the target at all.

I know you're supposed to get double for killing the target so why is it not in the rulebook?

LBH
 
Back
Top