Animals...how do I read it?

I'm looking at the Panther in the 2E book. Under the animal's combat stats it says:

Melee: Bite +6 finesse (1d8+3) and 2 claws +1 finesse (1d4+3)
Base Atk: +2; Grp: +5
Special Attacks: Improved grab, pounce, rake 1d4+1


My question is: How many attacks does this animal get?

Does she automatically get one attack roll for the bite and one attack roll for both the claws?

Or is it one attack roll for the Bite, plus one attack roll for the right paw, plus one attack roll for the left paw--for a total of 3 attacks?

Or...does she get one attack of her choice if she moves, but if she uses a full attack, and gives up the move, then she can attack with paws and bite?

Not sure how to read this.
 
They would typically make a ponce attack first. Such an attack allows them to make a full attack (1 bite & 2 claws) while charging. A successful bite attack, allows then to grapple the target without penalty. If they take hold of the target, then they can make a rake attack. You must roll all the attacks and the grapple check, so their are no automatic hits. They can make up to 4 attacks if they get a good bite!

If they are forced to make a standard attack, then they can only make a bite attack.
 
I'm still not clear on this.

I understand the pounce.

Let's say there's a caged panther. The panther's cage is opened, allowing him to move into the gladitorial ring.

Then, a Hyborian soldier is forced into the ring on the other side.

Now, the two combatants (panther and soldier) roll for initiative. The soldier wins.

He rushes up to the panther and takes a swipe with his sword (move + standard action). He misses.

Now, it's the panther's turn.

What can the panther do?

Make a single bite attack?

Make a bite attack and his two paw attacks (the paw attacks taken together as one attack throw?).

Make a bite attack and his two paw attacks (the paw attacks taken separately as two attack throws?)

How do I judged this?
 
Yes, three attacks. One at +6, two at +1 (primary attack is bite, secondary attacks are claws, penalised by -5 to hit).
If the panther had had the multiattack feat, she could have done one attack at +6, and the other twos at +4.
 
Yep. And if there's two Panthers, thier Base Attack goes up to +5 instead, because now there's a group - they hunt better in packs. However, there's something about that Panther Pounce.

The thing you missing is that if anyone, panther or Soldier, uses all of the attacks he can in a round, it's a Full Attack action. What the panther might do instead in the fight with the soldier is not immediately attack back.

A single panther would use it's superior Move to get out of charge range agin for the next turn. It'd then stalk, until it could charge, Pounce getting a Full Attack (1x Bite, 2x Claws) and two Rake attacks. That's five (5) attacks so far, and if the Bite hits, the panther can automatically force a Grapple (which it is +5 with). If it wins, it gets another Rake attack, for a total of six (6), and it has the Soldier in a Hold.

That's just one Panther. Two or more is worse.

Note the difference between Pounce as listed under Panther as opposed to Pounce for a Saber-tooth. No indication of "including two rake attacks", so those are bonuses in addition to a Full Attack on a successful Pounce.

ooo..and it's all Finesse, so if the panther rolls well enough, all thoer attacks ignore armor.... :shock:
 
Back
Top