To properly understand my position for the following discussion
one needs to read the 'Stealth X' rule on page 19.
E-mines that 'target' the ship cannot fire if they fail the 'targeting' roll.
E-mines that target empty space have done exactly that, and have done
so to avoid having to use the 'targeting' process so that they can
do some damage to the ship. Read the Stealth X and understand that
doing damage is NOT a part of targeting. Damage is resolved after
the targeting process is completed, it is not logical or reasonable to
conclude that doing damage means that one has, in a retrograde
manner, 'targeted' the ship. My opinion is that that the stealth would
not be compromised, because the stealth ship was not 'targeted,
according to the stealth X rule.
one needs to read the 'Stealth X' rule on page 19.
--------Na-Po said:------Greg Smith said:Na-Po said:So if you fire your e-mine on a ship you should roll for stealth if we are following the rules, correct ?
No. The e-mine rule says 'Every object within 3" of this point will automatically be attacked by the energy mine.' Since the e-mine doesn't target the ship with stealth, the ship will be hit automatically.
The comments made are both true as for as they go. To truly understand
the Stealth X rule one must understnd the the word 'Target' has both
a meaning and a process that must be performed prior to the intended
ship becoming 'targeted'. One also must understand that 'damage' is
not a requirement for a ship to be considered 'targeted', because damage
given is not any part of the targeting process.
This part of the sentence I wrote was to be understood as "if a player targets a ship with e-mines and not a point in space; we should use the stealth rule. (Sorry if I wasn't clear enough)
I agree it seems weird but it is not mandatory to target a point in space for e-mines, you can, as for every weapon, aim at a ship.
Edit : the rule is saying "You don't have to .." meaning it's possible target a ship instead of a point in space.
It's a kind of "stupid" idea but since I'm a demoer I should be able to explain what is mandatory, legal or not and what is just "common sense"
(in this case aiming a point in space seems a lot better of course but not mandatory)
PS : thanks greg for such a quick answer
E-mines that 'target' the ship cannot fire if they fail the 'targeting' roll.
E-mines that target empty space have done exactly that, and have done
so to avoid having to use the 'targeting' process so that they can
do some damage to the ship. Read the Stealth X and understand that
doing damage is NOT a part of targeting. Damage is resolved after
the targeting process is completed, it is not logical or reasonable to
conclude that doing damage means that one has, in a retrograde
manner, 'targeted' the ship. My opinion is that that the stealth would
not be compromised, because the stealth ship was not 'targeted,
according to the stealth X rule.