A new species for people to use the T-Centaur

Tom B

Banded Mongoose
I'm new to Traveller and a while ago I designed some alien species for a novel I was writing (I was never fully satisfied with it). Anyway, I am going to use some of them for adventures, however there is one species that I think is interesting but I'm not going to use apart maybe in a minor way.

They were originally called Centaurs (for obvious reasons) but that term is an alternative to K'kree in Traveller, so I've renamed them T-Centaurs for reasons that will become obvious. There's lots more that could be added about them.

T-Centaurs​

T-Centaurs are so named due to their trinocular vision. They have a large central eye with two smaller eyes on either side to provide a larger field of view and depth.

T-Centaurs are omnivores.

T-Centaurs have a black body, four legs and two arms. They are descended from hexapod mammal-analogues. Other species on their planet have developed wings from some of their limbs. Some from the front limbs and others from the mid-limbs.

Their face has a nose and mouth, in what humans would consider the normal arrangement.

They speak through their nose, the mouth is used for ingestion only.

Political system a republic with limited democracy

Their cities don’t have large buildings, very rarely going onto a third story, they don’t handle stairs well. The cities maintain a rural feel.

Opera is one of their more popular genres of entertainment. Historical events and myths are often recreated as opera.

Numbers based on base 12.

Home planet is called Home, in their native language.

The equivalent of nodding is to pull their head back. No, is indicated by pushing head towards the ground.