A Few noob-ish Questions

wierdo

Mongoose
Right here goes - apologies in advanced if these have allready been covered in the forums but I've had a good look and couldn't see anything that covered em:-

1) When Fighters are flying in support of a ship or another flight would they intercept an enemy fighter flight at the point that your opponent declared an attack against the flight? Also do they intercept flights that attempt to dogfight the flight that they are suppoting so that the origional flight can continue to it's objective (say Aurora's supporting T-Bolts) or do they merely assist in the dogfight?

2) If a fighter is engaged in a dogfight against multiple enemy flights (say 1 flight vs 3 flights getting +2 to the dogfight) and you moved a flight in to assist would that new flight start a separate dogfight or would it just count as supporting the origional flight in the first dogflight?
 
1) Yes to the first part. In a dogfight, if the enemy moves into base contact with the supported flight then it is locked into dogfight. However your supporting flight's dogfight would be used. Your supported flight could support. For example... your Star Snake is supporting a Sky Serpent. A Razik comes in to attack the Sky Serpent. Your oppone tplaces it in contact with the Sky Serpent to attack. Your Star Snake would respond by moving into contact with the Razik also. The dogfight bonuses would then be +3 for the Razik, and +2 for you (Star Snake is +1, and +1 for the Sky Serpent supporting). The Sky Serpent couldn't be moved away since it is in base contact with the Razik.

2) You are free to declare your own dogfights as you see fit. Just remember that a flight may not dogfight and assist in the same turn.
 
You are free to declare your own dogfights as you see fit

So, just so I'm clear on this, it would be the descision of the person controling the joinging flight whether or not to initiate a separate dogfight or to assist with the ongoing dogfight?
 
wierdo said:
You are free to declare your own dogfights as you see fit

So, just so I'm clear on this, it would be the descision of the person controling the joinging flight whether or not to initiate a separate dogfight or to assist with the ongoing dogfight?
Yes.

Remember that you take it in turns to declare dogfights though. So in one attack phase, first the initiative winner will declare his dogfights, decide which will dogfight and which will support; and his opponent will decide which of his remaining flights will be used to support him. Then, the initiative loser will do likewise. So in one turn, each pair of fighters will dogfight twice.
 
Example:

A Razik moves into contact with a Frazi. The Narn player then moves a Gorith into contact.

The Narn player has the initiative, so he choses the Gorith to dogfight (+1) and the Frazi to support (giving an additional +1). If he had chosen the Frazi to fight, the total would be less.

The dogfight is a draw, in the Centauri player's fighter phase they dogfight again. The Centauri player decides the Razik will attack the Frazi. The Narn player has no choice but to support with the Gorith.

------------------
Example 2:
dogfight.jpg


Sentris A&B move into contact with Frazis C&D.

The Centauri player has initiative, can opt to have Sentri A dogfight Frazi C and Sentri B dogfight Frazi D, in which case there are 2 dogfights.

Or

Sentri A can dogfight Frazi D, and the other fighters can support. So there is a single dogfight and only one fighter will die.

If Frazi D is destroyed, the Narn player can then only have Frazi C dogfight Sentri A in his fighter phase and Sentri B will play no part.

---------
I hope that helps.
 
Excellent thats much clearer now, thanks for the quick responses :) and I now have another query regarding the Close All Blast special action:

3) IIRC when using the CaBD action it says that every point of damage and crew loss suffered in a turn is negated on a 5+ and that the same applies to Crit effects. The first question is do you make a roll to avoid the crit all together (including the extra damage and crew loss suffered) or do you make separate rolls for each extra point of damage, crew loss, and the special effect? Second Question is if hit by a weapon that does double/triple/quadruple damage do you make a roll for each point of initial damage and crew loss and then multiply the remainder or do you multiply the intitial figure and then make your rolls?
 
You roll fo each point of damage after Double/Triple/Quad Damage has been multiplied. So if you receive 3 solid hits from a Double Damage weapon, you roll 6 d6 for damage and 6 d6 for crew.

You don't make a roll to avoid the crit altogether. You roll for each point of damage/crew lost after the total has been calculated. My copy of the rules makes no mention of avoiding the crit special effects, but possibly that changed before it went to press?
 
You make separate rolls for crew and damage, after it has been multiplied. Crit effects are not stopped by Close Blast Doors.

So:

A double damage hit doing a 4-6 crit, will do:

(1+3) x 2 = 8 damage, make 8 rolls.
(1+4) x 2 =10crew, make 10 rolls.
One arc cannot fire. No roll for this!
 
Burger said:
My copy of the rules makes no mention of avoiding the crit special effects, but possibly that changed before it went to press?

Not sure... I got mine replaced just last week and there's no mention of crit effects in it either, so my bet is that the effects can't be avoided.
 
Lol - well thanks again for the prompt replies and hopefully the timing issue wont result in open warefare :D
 
Back
Top