A few minor NA rules clarifications

lastbesthope

Mongoose
OK,

I have actually read the rulebook now, and have a few mnor clarification questions:

1) In the case of a tactical withdrawal, any fighters still aboard the withdrawing ship are counted when calculating the 1/4 VP you get for that ship.
1a) Do troop upgrades on board count in a similar manner?
1b) Are there any other circumstances where fighters or troop upgrades affect the VPs earned for destroying/capturing/crippling, etc. a ship?

2) On a Reactor Crit of 5 or 6 the possibility or certainty of the ship exploding is listed. Does it explode immediately like the 4th entry, or delayed like the 3rd entry on the Damage Table on P.10

Thanks

LBH
 
1) In the case of a tactical withdrawal, any fighters still aboard the withdrawing ship are counted when calculating the 1/4 VP you get for that ship.
1a) Do troop upgrades on board count in a similar manner?
1b) Are there any other circumstances where fighters or troop upgrades affect the VPs earned for destroying/capturing/crippling, etc. a ship?

2) On a Reactor Crit of 5 or 6 the possibility or certainty of the ship exploding is listed. Does it explode immediately like the 4th entry, or delayed like the 3rd entry on the Damage Table on P.10

1a - No, they are upgrades to the ship, so increase the points of the ship - I imagine that all VP's are based on ship+troop upgrades, even if those troops were on another ship by the end of the game.

1b - Hmm what happens if you capture a carrier with fighters on board? I think you'd add the points for each fighter as if you'd destroyed it, but I'm guessing.

2 - Immediately. There's no mention of running adrift, as there is on the 3rd entry, so it must be the same as the 4th entry.

That's my interpretation only, of course. :lol:
 
1. Troop upgrades are added to the cost of the ship.

2. Immediately.

The first question does raise some questions about whether you need to track where marauders are and how they die.

If I have a figate with 5 marauders (125 points), does the enemy gain 125 points if he captures it even though the marauders a killed during the boarding. Does the enemy gain 112.5 - full points for capturing the ship and half for destroying the marauders? Or simply 100?

Even more complicatedly, if I use that frigate to board and capture an enemy ship, then leave the marauders on the enemy ship; how many points does it give up when captured?
 
easiest way is troop upgrades are part of the ships costs so no matter where your marauders are the ship is worth as in gregs example 125pts.

the enemy ship if it gets recaptured obviously doesnt give up points it just denys them to the original capturer.

the complicated one is fighters/bombers. I would say they are not part of the ships cost but if you do happen to capture a ship with fighters/bombers on board and keep hold of said ship then count those fighters/bombers as destroyed for VPs purposes.
 
katadder said:
easiest way is troop upgrades are part of the ships costs so no matter where your marauders are the ship is worth as in gregs example 125pts.

Yes, that is the easiest way.

the complicated one is fighters/bombers. I would say they are not part of the ships cost but if you do happen to capture a ship with fighters/bombers on board and keep hold of said ship then count those fighters/bombers as destroyed for VPs purposes.

On the other hand, it might be better to say they are captured, but cannot be reused in the same game. They can then be reused as captured in a campaign game.
 
Fighters are counted as individual ships when counting VP's for destroyed/tactical withdrawals, but the situation of them being on board a captured ship is hazy but possible.
 
Well I have an answer for 2, ship blows up immediately, P. 10 states the effects of crits hhappen immediately.

As for the troop/fighter VP thing, I have emailed Matt for a clarification, but no answer yet.

I can understand the tac withdrawal thing for fighters, you bring them then take them away again, they have withdrawn.

But for killing troops and fighters on board a vessel, it takes the same effort to blow up a carrier nomatter whether it's fully loaded or hangars empty, same thing for boarding one.

As for troops, samw thing, more/better troops diesn't effect blowing a ship up, and by the time you own the ship for boarding it, you've killed all the troops so it's not worth them anymore. Or what about troop transfers mid game.

The way it is in the rules requires no more bookkeeping than exists already as you n eed to know how many fighters you still have on the ship. I think it might be the only situation where fighters/troops contribute to VP, but if Matt says different then that's the way it'll be.

LBH
 
Got an answer back from Matt

1) In the case of a tactical withdrawal, any fighters still aboard the
withdrawing ship are counted when calculating the 1/4 VP you get for that
ship.

Yup.

1a) Do troop upgrades on board count in a similar manner?

Yup. They affect the final points value of the ship.

1b) Are there any other circumstances where fighters or troop upgrades
affect the VPs earned for destroying/capturing/crippling, etc. a ship?

Don't think so!

2) On a Reactor Crit of 5 or 6 the possibility or certainty of the ship
exploding is listed. Does it explode immediately like the 4th entry, or
delayed like the 3rd entry on the Damage Table on P.10

In the End Phase on 5, immediate on 6.

Matthew

So the crits are as P.10, and troops and fighters only count for VP when carried aboard during tactical withdrawals.

LBH
 
And here's some more answers torules questions I had, some relating to the tourney in May...

> 1) Dodge, do you get to roll Dodge against hits to your shields?

Yup.

> 2) Assassination, if the attacker boards the target vessel they don't get
> the 100 bonus points for destroying it, do you still get the 100 bonus
> points for it still being "on the table" if it stays that way at the end
> of
> the game?

By the letter of the rules, yes (the noble is still alive, and may be
rescued later...).

> 3) If you're grappled by a ship you can't fire into the arc where the
> grappled ship is, can your turret weapons fire into that arc whilst you're
> grappled or not? i.e. if I'm grappled to port, by a ship using F arc
> grapples, can my turret weapons fire into the port arc? Can his fire into
> his forward arc?

No. That entire arc is blocked off.

Matthew

Question:

In the tourney points, to get all 20 points from a game you need to
annihilate the opponents fleet and win by more than 250 VP.

Does boarded and captured count as annihilated or do you need to destroy the
entire fleet?


Answer:
So there are no enemy controlled ships about - so boarding is fine.

Matthew
 
Back
Top