XP Re-rolls

Reaverman

Mongoose
If a ship CAF's a Target, am I right in thinking. The Target ship can only force a re-roll on dice, that have not been 'Re-Rolled' due to CAF. Also, does this also effect dice from ships, firing twin linked weapons?
 
You can only ever re-roll a dice once.

So for example if you CAF! and have a Scout lock on your target and fire on it with Twin-Linked weapons you would only re-roll the AD that missed once.

When firing a beam, you only ever re-roll the opening dice roll, not the subsequent rolls to see if you hit further.
 
Silvereye you're missing the point totally, the question is regarding using XP in a campaign to force a dice to be re-rolled. Valid question as well, is using an XP dice an exception to the "cannot re-roll twice" rule? I would have thought yes but I'd be interested to see an official answer!

Same would apply to spending an XP to re-roll a crit done against me... if it comes up as another crit can I spend another XP to re-roll it again?
 
Burger said:
Silvereye you're missing the point totally, the question is regarding using XP in a campaign to force a dice to be re-rolled. Valid question as well, is using an XP dice an exception to the "cannot re-roll twice" rule? I would have thought yes but I'd be interested to see an official answer!

Same would apply to spending an XP to re-roll a crit done against me... if it comes up as another crit can I spend another XP to re-roll it again?

Ah I'm awake now and understand the question better.

Personally, I'd go for the following:

SFoS said:
...The rules governing re-rolls may be found in Book One.

So no re-rolling of re-rolls.
 
Tank said:
cept the campaign bit says you can use XP to reroll dice during battle

Actually SFOS tells you to refer to Book 1 regarding re-rolls. IMHO, thats saying you cant force a re-roll on something thats already been re-rolled!
 
I think you're right Reaverman, the rules as written don't let you spend XP to re-roll a dice on a twin-linked or CAF'd weapon, and don't let you spend 2 XP to re-roll a dice twice (its a crit... no its not... yes it is... no its not). But it should be allowed IMO, since you are spending your hard-earned XP!!
 
Burger said:
I think you're right Reaverman, the rules as written don't let you spend XP to re-roll a dice on a twin-linked or CAF'd weapon, and don't let you spend 2 XP to re-roll a dice twice (its a crit... no its not... yes it is... no its not). But it should be allowed IMO, since you are spending your hard-earned XP!!

Yeah agreed


Oh dear, whose poor fleet has loads of TL weapons :P
 
Reaverman said:
Oh dear, whose poor fleet has loads of TL weapons :P
Waste of an XP to use it on an attack roll anyway. Better to use it to negate crits, or re-roll the nasty crits.
 
Back
Top