The support role came up in a game today. We could find no rule that prevented a fighter from attacking while in the support role. Does not come up often except in a fighter supporting another fighter and therefore close enough to attack as well, but nothing seemed to prevent it from shooting if not forced to engage in a dogfight.
Wulf, did you have a reference we could look up that states the fighter gives up its attack phase? If it is in the Arm. FAQ that is fine, I'll apply it when I have access but could not find one in the base rule right now and it will come up again in the campaign I am currently running, so would appreciate a pointer if there is a hard and fast rule I can apply.
Sorry for the thread jacking...back to your regularly scheduled whitestars...