VAS- Twin Linked shooting at evading target

Bob Hume

Mongoose
On another thread it has been put forth that a twin-linked weapon shooting at an evading target should roll to hit, reroll his miss'es because he is twin linked, then the target would have him reroll all of the hits because he is evading. Some have said that this is rerolling a reroll. Is this allowable? Others have said that the sequence is wrong and that the shooter should roll to hit, the target should make him reroll the hits then the shooter should get to reroll the miss'es. So, the second question is, which sequence?
 
In the case of TL vs. Evading there would be multiple rerolls. First you reroll the misses for your TL weapon. Gives you X hits. The Evasion causes those X hits to be rerolled giving you Y hits and you've more or less negated the TL. The attacker isn't rerolling the attack in his favor so the Evasion reroll isn't a reroll per se. It's the long way around for negating TL and vs. a standard attack roll the Evasion decreases the chances of hitting below normal. A very useful SA (I should use it more ). You can't lose the effects of the Evasion due to a TL weapon.

I see the point of confusion, if there was a Concentrate All Firepower SA (which there isn't-we're talking WWII here), that would negate a Twin Linked weapon's advantage (one reroll on attack) but it would still be subject to the Evasion.
 
Lowly Uhlan said:
The attacker isn't rerolling the attack in his favor so the Evasion reroll isn't a reroll per se.

I'm glad this has been ruled.

But I'd also like to point out that a re-roll is not defined in the rules as only being a possitive. True most re-roll do offer something possitive but they are not exclusivly positive. The evasion re-roll is a re-roll as described in the rulebook.

So an attack dice that hits and is re-rolled cannot be re-rolled again.
And an attack dice that is a miss and is re-rolled cannot be re-rolled again.

Now the question is I guess are you re-rolling an attack dice... or are you re-rolling a result. It was argued that you are not re-rolling a re-roll because one effects hits and one effects misses... But however you look at it with TL and Evasive as they have been ruled there is a very good chance you will be re-rolling an attack dice that has already been re-rolled once before to attain a result... somthing that is not allowed.

By the way I am just playing devils advocate here...

Its good that Easive trumps Twin Linked...
 
Back
Top