Suppression and damage allocation Qs

dsfrankevo

Mongoose
I Ran a few more demo games at the local store. Great fun was had by all - We like the system more and more - a few Qs did pop up;


Does a suppressed squad lose the ability to react?

As my second action - I fire on an enemy squad and do enough dice to suppress (it will lose it's "next" action)- the enemy squad has not reacted - can it react to the incoming fire or not - i.e. does it lose the next action on its own turn or is it suppressed and loses the reaction fire then can act normally on its turn?

If I lose the ability to react - it is to the benefit of the squad to state it wants to react - losing the reaction but acting normally on it's own turn rather than not "reacting" and losing the first action of it's own turn.

With a slightly different twist - the same situation as before - the fired upon squad choses not to react - later the same turn - another of my squads moves w/in 10" - can the squad react to this new threat after suppression earlier in the turn - or is it suppressed - as the first squad suppressed it.

Also the rules state a max of 2 actions can be lost to suppression - does this stack w/ the 2 actions lost for losing a leader for a total of 4 or is the max 2 lost actions period?

When targets are all the same distance from the firing unit & in LOS - how are damage dice allocated? One player wanted to allocate highest dice to model closest to the firing zone center - as Refereee - I decreed it was "defender's choice" for how to allocate - is there a right way?

Anxiously awaiting the wisdom of the oracle
 
If a unit is allocated at least as many damage dice in a single Shoot action as it had models then it will immediately lose its next action, and may
only Move as a reaction
. If this happens more than once during a single turn, it will lose a total of two actions. A unit may never lose more than
two actions from Suppression.


hope that helps
 
dsfrank said:
Does a suppressed squad lose the ability to react?
Lost actions for suppression count as actions during your turn only. It is possible to be suppressed via your first shoot action via the reaction and lose your 2nd action of the turn, and then the first action of the next turn.

If suppressed, a unit may only Move as a reaction. (see top of pg 2)

dsfrank said:
With a slightly different twist - the same situation as before - the fired upon squad choses not to react - later the same turn - another of my squads moves w/in 10" - can the squad react to this new threat after suppression earlier in the turn - or is it suppressed - as the first squad suppressed it.
You only get 1 reaction no matter how many method trigger it. Use it wisely. :D

dsfrank said:
Also the rules state a max of 2 actions can be lost to suppression - does this stack w/ the 2 actions lost for losing a leader for a total of 4 or is the max 2 lost actions period?
This came up in a discussion earlier. Yes, it stacks. This unit might as well say thier prayers unless you have some people backing them up. I suggestion you use your reactionary moves to run for cover or retreat full speed.

dsfrank said:
When targets are all the same distance from the firing unit & in LOS - how are damage dice allocated? One player wanted to allocate highest dice to model closest to the firing zone center - as Refereee - I decreed it was "defender's choice" for how to allocate - is there a right way?
Nothing currently in the rules. I agree that it would be defenders choice.
 
a unit may never loose more than 2 actions from supression.

as far as i know and read they dont stack !! not sure where that came from, if suppresed for 2 actions then loose a comander you just loose your next 2 actions, as far as i can tell, as it says once 2 actions are missed, wich your doing anyway for be supressed, then you upgrade a member to a unit leader..

so i cant see how that says they stack.

always take the more simplistic route i say.
 
Ok. You're right. There wasn't an official answer.
http://www.mongoosepublishing.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=344684&highlight=leader#344684

I can see it both ways:
1. Your moral is screwed and you are taking fire. Confusion and panic en sue and you waste precious time.
2. You are suppressed and hidden behind cover for 2 actions and someone gets tired of it and steps up to lead before you all join your leader.
 
Paladin said:
2. You are suppressed and hidden behind cover for 2 actions and someone gets tired of it and steps up to lead before you all join your leader.

We were soldiers has a great scene of what happens to people that get bored with being supressed (the guys that get cutoff away from the main force ;) )
 
Mr Evil said:
If a unit is allocated at least as many damage dice in a single Shoot action as it had models then it will immediately lose its next action, and may
only Move as a reaction
. If this happens more than once during a single turn, it will lose a total of two actions. A unit may never lose more than
two actions from Suppression.

I'm assuming thats per turn.
 
All - clear at this point - many thanks Paladin

So to sum up - lost actions are only lost during your active turn

However - suppressed units can only use a "move action" as a reaction to the enemy



Now we just need a rulings on suppression w/ dead leader and dice allocation for same distance targets that aren't jibberish :roll:
 
Yes, you can lose a unit's second action on your turn if you shoot with the first action, fail to suppress, and the enemy reacts and shoots back with enough to suppress you. If you read the rules and don't think too much into them (remember, it's a more abstract game) then this is exactly what the rules say can happen. That's why they said that with suppression, you immediately lose that unit's next action.

It's never the defender's choice in damage allocation, it's always by the rules. Models within units are never equidistant on the table, even if they're lined up parallel. Just find a center of the firing unit and imagine a line going from that center to the center of the enemy models caught in the fire zone, the closest models are the ones closes to that line.
 
Turtle said:
It's never the defender's choice in damage allocation, it's always by the rules. Models within units are never equidistant on the table, even if they're lined up parallel. Just find a center of the firing unit and imagine a line going from that center to the center of the enemy models caught in the fire zone, the closest models are the ones closes to that line.
What if you only have one model shooting at two that are equal distance apart? He being the only attacker is the center of the fire zone.

Never say never. ;)
 
Paladin said:
Turtle said:
It's never the defender's choice in damage allocation, it's always by the rules. Models within units are never equidistant on the table, even if they're lined up parallel. Just find a center of the firing unit and imagine a line going from that center to the center of the enemy models caught in the fire zone, the closest models are the ones closes to that line.
What if you only have one model shooting at two that are equal distance apart? He being the only attacker is the center of the fire zone.

Never say never. ;)

roll a D6 123 guy A / 456 guy B
 
Back
Top