Summon Essence

urdinaran

Mongoose
Anyone else noticed this spell in Hyboria's Finest? Pretty damn rude if you ask me.


5 PP per jar of blood; each jar creates 1 ghoul, 1 jar per Scholar level

Prerequisites: Raise Corpse, MAB +2

Duration: MAB set duration in HOURS

These ghouls can turn incorporeal, and they can function as spies or guards !!!
 
rude as in...?

It appears to be a well-described, graphic spell. Do you think it is too powerful? I may houserule that other langs may be used and not just Khitan (Ancient Acheronian, Old Stygian, etc.). That seems a bit exclusive.
 
I don't have the books with me, but this seems odd, a level 1 scholor could cast this with 1 jar and 5pp but a 5th level would require 5 jars and 25pp to get more-or-less the same effect? given that with 5 jars the first level scholor can recover that pp loss and keep casting ? then if cast by a higher level the affect of the rule of success has to be taken into account too.

Some of these things need a bit of tweaking
 
How about interpreting it as up to one jar per scholar level? So a Lv 5 scholar can decide whether to spend 5, 10, etc. PP. Or is there a rule anywhere that you can't cast a spell with any less than its maximum power?
 
urdinaran said:
Anyone else noticed this spell in Hyboria's Finest? Pretty damn rude if you ask me.

You can find that spell used as described in one of the Tor pastiches. I don't remember which one right off hand. The number of jars is a maximum, so a 5th level sorcerer can use one jar.
 
Given the prerequisites, a 1st level Scholar couldn't cast this spell.

When a Scholar gets the 3x max PP, he can use Ritual Sacrifice to max out his PP, and then summon a bunch of these.
 
Back
Top