SST TMG - Digging Bugs out of holes

Adastra

Mongoose
I was browsing the main rule book recently and came up with a situation that I'd like to get some opinions on. Let's say you have a Brain Bug sitting in a tunnel entrance - not on top, but sitting inside, so that he's still a Tunneling Marker. To take him out, you decide to direct fire a pee-wee at the entrance - not 'firing down a bug hole', but firing at the entrance and marker. Would you treat this attack as:

A) You attack the Tunnel Entrance as a Structure, in which case when it's destroyed it gets removed from the table, and the Brain takes 2 x D10 attacks as in Structure Collapse (Hardback rules, p. 140).
or.....
B) You attack the Tunneling Marker itself, as per Attacking Tunnel Markers (Hardback, p. 138). In this case, since the nuke has Killshot, would you roll just one D10 attack on the Brain (as per the Kill paragraph), or a D10 for each roll on the nuke attack that scored a hit?

What does everyone think?
 
Well personally I look at it as sitting in a structure, roll dice as normal for a collapsing building. How ever, I would love to hear from MSprange that it does a number of Killshots to the hole and Brain underneath. I figure that with the Kill/Multi hit for the nuke you could nail the Brain above or below the hole. :twisted:
 
Going by the abstract nature of cover in SST, the marker counts as being in a building, so the hits are directed at the building or the marker but only if you can see the target (like a model in PBR of a wall/window/door) as the marker has no size I'd assume you can't see it for direct fire. An LZ shot would inflict 3d10 +4 on the marker and the entrance.
As for a marker in open ground, you would roll 15 dice, each roll of a target would inflict a d10 roll on the brain (as it's killshot every target breaches the marker). Multihit is wasted though, as multihit has a different effect on a tunneling unit (it hits every model represented by the marker.... good if he's with a unit though).
So, nuke hits the marker and inflicts all of it's damage against the subterranean model (one d10 per target rolled, no multihit). At the end of the shooting action, the brain is now on the surface (if it survived).

That's how we play it anyway.
 
Back
Top