SST:Evo Warrior Bug questions

Paladin

Mongoose
Code:
Swarm: Any warrior bug may be nominated as unit leader at the start of every action. This warrior bug may act as unit leader for any warrior bugs, including those not part of its original unit.
1. Does that mean they are immune to all out of command effects?
2. Does this require an action of is it free?



Tunneling:
1. Can units tunnel through buildings/emplacements?
2. When exitting the tunnel do swarms get a move action from the tunnel center or do they just appear as close as possible in a full circle from the tunnel entrance.

Code:
At the beginning of every Arachnid turn after the first, roll a dice. On a 5 or more, the unit will surface at this point, and may take a single action immediately. You may add a cumulative +1 bonus to this roll for every turn after the second in which you roll.
That wording is a little confusing to me. Which is right? (I'm assuming Option 1)

Option 1:
Round 1 - no roll
Round 2 - 5+ to surface
Round 3 - 4+ to surface
Round 4 - 3+ to surface
...
Option 2:
Round 1 - no roll
Round 2 - 5+ to surface
Round 3 - 5+ to surface
Round 4 - 4+ to surface
...
 
Good questions Paladin. This is the kind of thinking I like to see, very constructive. My thoughts:

Paladin said:
Code:
Swarm: Any warrior bug may be nominated as unit leader at the start of every action. This warrior bug may act as unit leader for any warrior bugs, including those not part of its original unit.
1. Does that mean they are immune to all out of command effects?
2. Does this require an action of is it free?

SST:Evo Rules said:
If a model is ever more than 6” away from its unit leader, or if the unit leader is killed, then it will be out of command, losing its next two actions. Models that are out of command may only make reactions (see below). After two actions have been missed, you may nominate another model in the unit to become unit leader, so long as the original unit leader has been removed from the table. A unit leader of one unit may not act as unit leader of another.

Other than being outside of the 6" command, I would say yes. Modifying the card to specify would be nice. As it stands the rules say that you lose two actions as soon as the leader is lost, rather than being a result of being Out of Command.

Paladin said:
Tunneling:
1. Can units tunnel through buildings/emplacements?
2. When exitting the tunnel do swarms get a move action from the tunnel center or do they just appear as close as possible in a full circle from the tunnel entrance.

1: The card says "Write down the exact location where you intend
the unit to surface before any models are deployed." So yes they can appear inside buildings and emplacements unless a (future) emplacement rule says otherwise.

2: The card says "On a 5 or more, the unit will surface at this
point, and may take a single action immediately." Since it mentions taking an action after surfacing, I infer that surfacing is merely placing the models on the board, but again it would be nice if "surfacing" was defined or it was described more fully.

Paladin said:
Code:
At the beginning of every Arachnid turn after the first, roll a dice. On a 5 or more, the unit will surface at this point, and may take a single action immediately. You may add a cumulative +1 bonus to this roll for every turn after the second in which you roll.
That wording is a little confusing to me. Which is right? (I'm assuming Option 1)

Option 1:
Round 1 - no roll
Round 2 - 5+ to surface
Round 3 - 4+ to surface
Round 4 - 3+ to surface
...
Option 2:
Round 1 - no roll
Round 2 - 5+ to surface
Round 3 - 5+ to surface
Round 4 - 4+ to surface
...

Yikes, nice catch on the grammar. I think you are correct with option one and all they'd have to do is leave off the "in which you roll."
 
Rabidchild said:
1: The card says "Write down the exact location where you intend
the unit to surface before any models are deployed." So yes they can appear inside buildings and emplacements unless a (future) emplacement rule says otherwise.
I only ask, because at one point in BF:Evo units exiting a destroyed vee got to be placed on the board within a "move" of the vee in the same way they do when they dismount a vee normally. Not quite the same but similar.

Rabidchild said:
2: The card says "On a 5 or more, the unit will surface at this
point, and may take a single action immediately." Since it mentions taking an action after surfacing, I infer that surfacing is merely placing the models on the board, but again it would be nice if "surfacing" was defined or it was described more fully.
Ok. let me clarify the question. Can they tunnel out onto the roofs of buildings/emplacements or do they start "inside" them?
 
Paladin said:
1. Does that mean they are immune to all out of command effects?
2. Does this require an action of is it free?
According to the old rules I would say yes to 1 and 2.
Choosing unit leaders doesn't need any action and if you can choose a new unit leader for free you HAVE a unit leader and do not suffer from the loss of one, simply because you do not need to put a new one in charge (what would be represented by forgoing two actions).

Paladin said:
Ok. let me clarify the question. Can they tunnel out onto the roofs of buildings/emplacements or do they start "inside" them?

*rofl*

Rocket Bugs!
 
Galatea said:
Paladin said:
1. Does that mean they are immune to all out of command effects?
2. Does this require an action of is it free?
According to the old rules I would say yes to 1 and 2.
Choosing unit leaders doesn't need any action and if you can choose a new unit leader for free you HAVE a unit leader and do not suffer from the loss of one, simply because you do not need to put a new one in charge (what would be represented by forgoing two actions).
I figured it was straight forward, but there have been abilities on cards that would seem to be intuitive/automatic, but requuire an action. In this case you'd save 1 over 2 lost actions for out of command. But the nature of the hive would imply a mass charge till the end.

Galatea said:
Paladin said:
Ok. let me clarify the question. Can they tunnel out onto the roofs of buildings/emplacements or do they start "inside" them?

*rofl*

Rocket Bugs!
No lie, I've seen that as the legal ruling in other games with a burrowing ability. Granted, the same game discouraged the use of buildings or entering them if they were used. Just checking here. Because the next logical question is what the heck happens in the Evo rules when my tanker shows up in a multi-floor building.... Does he auto close combat the structure? :D
 
Paladin said:
Because the next logical question is what the heck happens in the Evo rules when my tanker shows up in a multi-floor building.... Does he auto close combat the structure? :D

*rofl* Jelly tankers!



We have decided here to apply close combat dice (full or just one dice) if we think it's appropriate - like a Bigfoot Marauder jumping on a small wooden house or dropping into the roof of a multilevel building.
 
It's good to see someone else from EDGAR looking at SST. :)

As for my responses, I can see how a bug could get out of command:

3 bugs are surrounding MI in a triangle of 6 inches from bug to bug. The MI shoot each bug and don't kill them. Each is knocked back 1 inch from the others. Now you have 3 bugs out of command range of each other. Two of them would be out of command. I don't think it would last long though. *shrug*

As for Tankers in buildings, It would be a game by game decision, if it's a little hut, I'd say the building's toast. If it's a mall, the tanker emerges on the first floor. Although with his size, he could reach the second or third floor. :)

If it's a hill or a mountain, I'd say he could burrow to the top.

Just some thoughts

James / Nezeray
 
nezeray said:
It's good to see someone else from EDGAR looking at SST. :)
yeah, thanks for suckering me... I've bought the starter kit, downloaded and read back through the SST articles in the S&Ps through 32, read every preview/rules set/stat card I can find and a good chunk of the forum posts in the last 3 months. I've made paper tokens of the minis I don't have and am cursing the evil addiction.
 
Paladin said:
nezeray said:
It's good to see someone else from EDGAR looking at SST. :)
yeah, thanks for suckering me... I've bought the starter kit, downloaded and read back through the SST articles in the S&Ps through 32, read every preview/rules set/stat card I can find and a good chunk of the forum posts in the last 3 months. I've made paper tokens of the minis I don't have and am cursing the evil addiction.

I'll have to send this post to Matthew and Alex, maybe they'll give me a cookie. ;)

James / Nezeray
 
nezeray said:
Paladin said:
nezeray said:
It's good to see someone else from EDGAR looking at SST. :)
yeah, thanks for suckering me... I've bought the starter kit, downloaded and read back through the SST articles in the S&Ps through 32, read every preview/rules set/stat card I can find and a good chunk of the forum posts in the last 3 months. I've made paper tokens of the minis I don't have and am cursing the evil addiction.

I'll have to send this post to Matthew and Alex, maybe they'll give me a cookie. ;)

James / Nezeray
They may curse you for bringing a thorn to their side. :D
 
1. Can bugs still rebury like they can in the v 1 rules?
2. What is the difficulty? I would assume it starts at 5 in the round in which you first attmept to bury.
3. Where does the tunnel originate? I'd assume in the spot of the current squad leader and the other bugs would be forced to move into the tunnel. This causes a bit of problem when moving in swarm mode rather than standard 6" command radius mode.
4. After playing I think the command radius on the Warriors needs to be much higher or the swarm distance needs to be increaded. It is almost impossible to get all 10 models within 6" of the leader due to the length of legs and inability to get them in close. 2" is also very difficult if you are attempting to measure center to center on models. If you measure from any edge/portion of the model it is tolerable, but that doesn't match the method of measure for anything else in the game.
 
Paladin said:
nezeray said:
Paladin said:
yeah, thanks for suckering me... I've bought the starter kit, downloaded and read back through the SST articles in the S&Ps through 32, read every preview/rules set/stat card I can find and a good chunk of the forum posts in the last 3 months. I've made paper tokens of the minis I don't have and am cursing the evil addiction.

I'll have to send this post to Matthew and Alex, maybe they'll give me a cookie. ;)

James / Nezeray
They may curse you for bringing a thorn to their side. :D

Curses. I'm thoroughly addicted. I've already played 14-15 games in the last 3 weeks and am halfway through the original novel that inspired the game. :D
 
FYI: The bookstore in Radcliff still has some models for sale. I know they had the Brain, Tanker and Ape this morning. >:)

Nezeray

p.s. I haven't seen anything in the Evo rules that say then can resubmerge. As far as command range and swarms, the bugs just have to stay close to one another.
 
Paladin said:
1. Can bugs still rebury like they can in the v 1 rules?
Not in the current Evo rules (they would leave the game).
Besides that there isn't even a rule for underground movement or reburrying by now.

Paladin said:
3. Where does the tunnel originate? I'd assume in the spot of the current squad leader and the other bugs would be forced to move into the tunnel. This causes a bit of problem when moving in swarm mode rather than standard 6" command radius mode.
There are no tunnels in Evo, just points of terrain you place your Bugs upon.
In fact you can group 50 Bugs and then deploy them during the game all in PBR leading to the fact that they could spread out over half the table.

Also if you could rebury (if there were rule for it) you could bury the entire swarm, even if it covers the entire table, simply because you don't have an entry point.

Paladin said:
4. After playing I think the command radius on the Warriors needs to be much higher or the swarm distance needs to be increaded. It is almost impossible to get all 10 models within 6" of the leader due to the length of legs and inability to get them in close. 2" is also very difficult if you are attempting to measure center to center on models. If you measure from any edge/portion of the model it is tolerable, but that doesn't match the method of measure for anything else in the game.

As far as I know the V1 swarming rule sais they need to stay in PBR of each other, so they have 4" measured from center to center - that should be enough. 2" of course is ridiculous.
 
Galatea said:
Paladin said:
1. Can bugs still rebury like they can in the v 1 rules?
Not in the current Evo rules (they would leave the game).
Besides that there isn't even a rule for underground movement or reburrying by now.
V1: See 4th paragraph on pg 125 about tunnelling markers. It requires a Ready action. I'm asking if v2 has the same option.

Galatea said:
In fact you can group 50 Bugs and then deploy them during the game all in PBR leading to the fact that they could spread out over half the table.
Except the Evo Horde rules have a max of 20 units on the card.
 
Paladin said:
V1: See 4th paragraph on pg 125 about tunnelling markers. It requires a Ready action. I'm asking if v2 has the same option.
I know the old rules. I'm just saying that Evo has no Tunnel Markers and no Tunnel entrances. So reburying appears a bit difficult.

Galatea said:
Except the Evo Horde rules have a max of 20 units on the card.
Okay, then it's just twenty^^. Still a good coverage.
 
Basic rules are on the bug unit card previews (Warrior types and Tanker types esp.), stats duplicated on Hiromoon's very pretty cards found on this forum.
 
nezeray said:
Paladin said:
Where are the SST:Evo tunnelling rules? An S&P?

The only tunneling rules so far are on the cards. The advanced book may have more.

James / Nezeray
But the cards aren't enough to figure things out. Do you start anywhere and just roll or have to move to a spot and then roll?

We've been using a hybrid. You can pay for markers/entrances like v.1 but may make an attempt to come up "early" or in alternate spots by rolling th 5+, with a -1 per extra round attempting to appear in the new entrance.
 
Back
Top