Special Actions Question....

Fiztbane_65

Mongoose
Ok, heres my problem....

Say your opponent has moved a ship to concentrate all firepower at one of your ships. Then, you move one of your ships in between the two and you use the Manoeuvre to Shield Them special. Then you roll the CQ check and you win, so the other person has to shoot at your shielding ship. HOWEVER, the special action Concentrate all Fire says "Nominate one enemy target before you begin moving your ship. All AD used by that ship that miss this target may be re-rolled. No turns may be attempted, nor may any other target be attacked"

Does this mean that the person who concentrated all fire can NOT shoot at anything that turn since the other person got the Manoeuvre to shield them action to work?
 
I would say not in the same way that it has been ruled that Dodge and Stealth do not work if you manuever to shield. On the other hand the rules as written could work that way, but I would thought that Manuever to shield caused any attacks on the original target to be re-directed. IE the ship attacks original target but the attacks get resolved against the Shielding ship, the sanity inducing loophole here being that the attacking ship only attacked the original target, those attacks were just resolved against the shielding ship.

But sadly my rulebook is out in the literally freezing weather so I am stuck with speculation.

Ripple
 
That's how I read it too. Basically, the ship performing the CAF would have to treat the shielding vessel as it's target regardless of the CAF rule that normally would disallow you from firing on another target.
 
the ship that CAF'd is now treated as if he had CAF'd against the shielding ship. He's still under his order restrictions, what ever he would have fired at the target ship now attacks the MtST! ship.

Chern
 
Back
Top