Recoil/Heft question

fenriswolf

Mongoose
I have a quick question that I hope someone can clear up. If a character's strength DM is equal to the recoil or heft rating of a weapon, do they incur an initiative penalty on the following round? The rules state that if their strength DM is less than the weapon then they receive a penalty and if their DM is more, then they do not. Just wondering what happens if it is equal.
 
That was going to be my ruling as well. I guess the book could have been a little bit clearer by using "equal to or greater."
 
That's how I've always run it. The penalty is equal to the difference, so if they're equal the penalty is 0.

Sevya
 
The wording, as you've said, is if "less that", as opposed to "less than or equal to". Thus, if the Str DM is the same or higher than recoil/heft, there is no penalty.

But remember, if shooting a burst, the recoil increases by 1 and if shooting full auto, the recoil is increased by half the auto value.
 
Back
Top