Verderer said:
Maybe the point is not whether you parry or not, but whether you evade or parry, and hence you need to say it in advance? Which is why asked about evade rule a couple of posts back? Ie. can/must Evade be used in the same way as parry?
Evade in MRQ is not just a sidestep, or ducking under / leaping over the blow that a Dodge in previous editions might have been, it is dropping to the floor, or diving out of the way - this is why you can not attack on your next CA if you choose to evade, so it would seem fair to me to say that once you have commited to an evade, you can not subsequently cancel it.
(If you are prepared to parry and your opponent does not make a credible attack, you don't actually need to move your weapon/shield to interpose it. If you are leaping out of the way, you can't afford to wait to see how close the blow is coming...)
So I'd say when an opponent is attacking you
1) If you want to evade, you must declare before the attack(*)
Once you've chosen to evade, you can't cancel & regain the CA
If you choose to evade, you can't attack with your next CA
2) If you want to parry, you are assumed to chose this option before the attack
You can choose not to parry once the attack is rolled to save the CA
If you choose not to parry, you can't change your mind when damage &/or location are rolled!
(* although in practice I might not be strict in enforcing this rule)
This just leaves the question of a pre-declared Parry. If you elect not to attack on your CA, but save your action to allow a parry before your next action, can you instead use it to evade? - Conversly if you save it to evade a (potential) attack, do you automatically lose the ability to attack on your next CA, even if the attack never materialises?
I'd say that you reserve the action for "Defensive action", and can elect to parry or evade when (or if) the attack is delared. If you are not attacked at all then you never use the action, so are free to choose any action on your next CA.
This seems to me to fit the spirit/intention of the RAW
wrt skill over 100% reducing the attack chance - I don't see that this has any great relevance. The dice roll is unaltered. If the attack would hit if not parried and would miss if parried then that will happen whether the parry is pre-declared or chosen after the fact. If the parry has a material effect on the result then the CA must be expended.