More questions

HirnKhan

Mongoose
Now that we have played for the second time, some more questions have come up:

1. When concentrating fire you can reroll attack dice that missed. Is that also true for follow-up rolls from beam weapons?

2. We couldn't find a clear description of when a ship is in anothers fire arc. When the pin is in the arc, when part of the base is in the arc or when part of the model is in the arc?

3. The above for bore weapons.

Thanks

Michael
 
1. No, just the initial rolls.

2. The pin, all measurements and all targeting is done via the post of the model.

3. Boresite has to be lined up, dead center to pin. Most players use 'gentleman's boresite' rules. Meaning you get as close as you can, then declare that you are boresiting, it helps prevent mixups due to bumped models, etc.
 
1. You only ever get one chance to reroll a dice that misses, (from CAF!, Twin-Linked or a Scout reroll). For beams it is only the initial roll that is re-rolled, any follow up shots that fail to hit are not rerolled.

2. All targeting and measuring is done between the pin/post/red dot. If the attacking ship has one of the arc lines pointing to the pin/post/red dot of the target, then the attacking ship can choose which arc the target is in.

3. Turn your tape measure on its side and align it the length of the ship, that is your boresight arc. The "Gentleman's agreement" is the fairest way to align a boresight. So as long as you can fairly position your ship pointing straight at the target, anounce to opponent that you are lining up the boresight. It saves alot of arguing later.
 
Silvereye said:
3. Turn your tape measure on its side and align it the length of the ship, that is your boresight arc. The "Gentleman's agreement" is the fairest way to align a boresight. So as long as you can fairly position your ship pointing straight at the target, anounce to opponent that you are lining up the boresight. It saves alot of arguing later.
Just to be absolutely clear, Silvereye (you can have that treated, you know) is quite right, but it should be stressed that, again, the target is the mini stem or counter centre point. A Boresight arc is as narrow as you're prepared to measure. It is, therefore, virtually impossible to 'accidentally' Boresight a ship, it should always be declared and agreed on during movement, unless you have a good friendly group who will allow a little leeway.

Wulf
 
Wulf Corbett said:
It is, therefore, virtually impossible to 'accidentally' Boresight a ship
Fighters however, are easy to accidentally boresight: this Ka'Toc split his beam between the 2 Nial flights, passed both stealth rolls and both failed their dodges. DOH!

06.jpg
 
the way we play it,

you can only bore sight someone if you move into position AFTER they have moved (so its based on initiative). The only other time boresight is allowed to be declared is when someone is stupid enough to finish their move directly in front of a ship with a boresite weapon (measured pin to pin, at 90 degrees to a horizontal base line drawn through the firing ship.)

I have seen someone do this before in front of a Victory. They didnt last long.
 
Burger said:
Wulf Corbett said:
It is, therefore, virtually impossible to 'accidentally' Boresight a ship
Fighters however, are easy to accidentally boresight: this Ka'Toc split his beam between the 2 Nial flights, passed both stealth rolls and both failed their dodges. DOH!

06.jpg

Well technically all measurement to fighters should be to the center of the flight as per the dot on the counters....
 
Locutus9956 said:
Well technically all measurement to fighters should be to the center of the flight as per the dot on the counters....
Yes... the centre of the flights are both boresighted perfectly!
 
Back
Top