More Noob questions

We had a game Tuesday in which one of my skirmish level ships was surounded by starfurys which crippled it , he then beamed it with a hyperion causing it to exploded, we assumed that this explosion was treated like an energy mine i.e. no criticals is that correct ?

It did wipe out all but 1 of his starfurys :lol:
 
Snake Pliskin said:
we assumed that this explosion was treated like an energy mine i.e. no criticals is that correct ?

Nowhere in the rules is it stated that a ship exploding is like an energy mine, so your assumption is incorrect. Whilst they may seem similar, remember that an energy mine is a massive release of energy and it is this energy that is causing the damage, whereas as an exploding ship is more like a massive fragmentation grenade, carry all manner of debris with the explosion.

Regards,

Dave
 
Foxmeister's right. It also means that if you can avoid or eliminate the big chunks, you'll come out all right - so dodge and interceptors also work.
 
Interceptors may not be used against exploding ships (p19). The basic point is the same though: assume that a ship explosion is a completely normal attack except for where the rules say otherwise.
 
Basically ship explosion is chunks of ship not just an energy blast, you can dodge them but its assumed there are at least a fair few chunks that will be simply to large to shoot down with interceptors. Its pretty straightforward though, you just reslove that many attack dice against every target within 4", each hit is considered a normal hit and must roll on the damage table (and will crit on a 6 and bulkhead on a 1 as normal). They CAN be dodged and are indeed affected by things like adaptive armour, close blast doors, GEG, shields etc. Interceptors as noted are specifically NOT allowed against them though.

To paraphrase, assumtion is the mother of all *&$@ ups! :P
 
skavendan said:
hiffano said:
oh god, someone shoot me now. it's like a bad re-run of the office

Shoots Hiffano, takes his keys and goes to "liberate his miniatures"

feel free, Brakiri have found a buyer, Minbari will be going onE-bay, and yet to decide whether to sell EA, Drakh or Narn.
 
I think that no matter what I do, I would hang on to that on principle, plus it contains about £20 of Greenstuff, thats one valuable model now!!
 
All that greenstuff and pewter must just about give it its own gravity well. :wink: I've said it before, but gw's greenstuff sales will probably plumet now that there is to be no more acta minies.
 
feel free, Brakiri have found a buyer, Minbari will be going onE-bay, and yet to decide whether to sell EA, Drakh or Narn.

Is this because you've found out that the Ancient 14lb Lump Hammer of Doom beats all. :lol:

Quick Dan lets get round before he sells the Drakh & Narn preferably while he's out somewhere else playing with his lump hammer ship. :idea:
 
Rawwar said:
feel free, Brakiri have found a buyer, Minbari will be going onE-bay, and yet to decide whether to sell EA, Drakh or Narn.

Is this because you've found out that the Ancient 14lb Lump Hammer of Doom beats all. :lol:

Quick Dan lets get round before he sells the Drakh & Narn preferably while he's out somewhere else playing with his lump hammer ship. :idea:

Well he's of to a turni so we can go then he'll be away :twisted:
 
Harry Lonsdale said:
If a ship with stealth is caught in an explosion, do other ships get +1 to target it?

No. Skavendan is mistaken. The rules state: "An additional –1 penalty is applied if any other ship in the same fleet has successfully attacked the target..."
 
Greg Smith said:
Harry Lonsdale said:
If a ship with stealth is caught in an explosion, do other ships get +1 to target it?

No. Skavendan is mistaken. The rules state: "An additional –1 penalty is applied if any other ship in the same fleet has successfully attacked the target..."

Which amounts the same thing I just presumed he read the rules right.
 
Back
Top