Mercenary Large Scale Conflict System

locarno24

Cosmic Mongoose
Likely to be using this fairly soon*, just looking to get some learned opinons and/or clarifications. I've looked at the rules but never used them in anger.

~ What scale do you tend to use this system at? Only the way the rules are set up, modelling a company as one size 4 formation of 100 soldiers works very differently to three thirty-strong platoons and a ten-strong command section. Surely the larger formations should have subordinate commanders within them? Essentially, how many units (on whatever scale) seems best to use?

~ On a similar note - clearly the size 6 command unit is not a regiment by itself. This is supposed to be the command section for a regiment, presumably? On a similar note, a Size 1 command unit should surely struggle if running a multi-regiment operation....

~ If there's no command unit, then the units need to make a morale check to be allowed one action. Is the total number of units that can act limited in any way? Otherwise, if a largish force has its command shot early in the battle, it is likely to have its entire force act in the following turn (as a company-sized force of regular troops always passes its first morale check). Which seems sort of counter-intutive after a successful decapitation attack.

~ On a related note, I read it that you lose morale before taking the test to see if you can act. Am I reading it correctly?

~ Ortillery is listed as '1' regardless of unit size, claiming "Ortillery normally takes the form of a starship in orbit and can represent anything from a small patrol ship to a squadron of cruisers to a huge dreadnought". Which is fine, but I was hoping for some guidance as to how much firepower needed to be available to the Ortillery 'unit' before it counted as being of various sizes. A squadron of cruisers, for example, would count as what? Company-level ortillery? Battalion?

~ When calling in CAS units, how is the number of battle rounds calculated? Does it include the round in which you call them in? (I.e. do you need at least effect 1 in order to get the CAS unit to turn up?)

~ Blocking manouvre actions: How does this work? If the enemy front line consists of two size 3 infantry units, do I need to declare five manouvre actions and only get to do the fifth (which, since it requires five plus actions, is rather difficult to achieve), or do I need four units that could move in (but don't) to allow a fifth to roll in. Also seems slightly odd that a single tank (size 1) can block an entire thousand-strong infantry regiment (size 6)


* The Colonial Marines will be busy shooting toasters. This may not end well.
 
Back
Top