ericphillips
Mongoose
Starting a game under the Mongoose rules, but have a couple of questions:
1. It says: "If some of the combatants are ready for combat and some are not, such as in an ambush, the prepared characters are considered to get an automatic 12 on their roll, giving them an Initiative of 12 + Dexterity DM."
Does this mean for that round only, and then next turn the initiative goes down to a regular rolled initiative, or does it stay at the 12+ figure forever. Seems like after sometime the surprise should wear off.
2. Hasten: Does "you can only hasten once" mean you can only use it once a combat, or once per round?
3. Delay: "If the character has not acted by the end of the round he may choose to act first in the next round, effectively giving up his actions in the previous round in exchange for an Initiative advantage. His new Initiative is set to one higher than that of the current first person in the order."
Does this mean his initiative is the new initiative from now on? Or does he go then go again on his regular initiative?
Thank you.
1. It says: "If some of the combatants are ready for combat and some are not, such as in an ambush, the prepared characters are considered to get an automatic 12 on their roll, giving them an Initiative of 12 + Dexterity DM."
Does this mean for that round only, and then next turn the initiative goes down to a regular rolled initiative, or does it stay at the 12+ figure forever. Seems like after sometime the surprise should wear off.
2. Hasten: Does "you can only hasten once" mean you can only use it once a combat, or once per round?
3. Delay: "If the character has not acted by the end of the round he may choose to act first in the next round, effectively giving up his actions in the previous round in exchange for an Initiative advantage. His new Initiative is set to one higher than that of the current first person in the order."
Does this mean his initiative is the new initiative from now on? Or does he go then go again on his regular initiative?
Thank you.