Freindly fire & reactions

Paladin

Mongoose
In the event that your own units are the victim of friendly fire, do they get a reaction as if they are an enemy? I don't see any reason not to, just wanted to make sure.
 
I would think it makes snese for the unit to be able to react in the normal way.

If they get caught in your fire zone and take hits, they should be able to react to move out of it.

Hell its what I'd do if I was getting popped at by my own troops. :lol:
 
Paladin said:
In the event that your own units are the victim of friendly fire, do they get a reaction as if they are an enemy? I don't see any reason not to, just wanted to make sure.

I can see this being abused ...

My squad 'A' fires one guy at my squad 'B' - the lone gunman rolls a 4 so no casualty -

As squad 'B' is taking fire it can react - I don't want to fire as it can only fire @ the unit firing on it - I can however move - so I move squad 'B' however I like

Then I activate squad 'B' and get my regular 2 actions - thus getting 3 actions the turn in return for the risk of losing a guy and squad 'A' sacraficing an action to shoot @ its buddies

I don't think I'd say "I'll allow it!"
 
I agree, on the surface it 'seems' like a good idea. But anyone who shoots his own troops- if even allowed to occur - be it intentional or not - should be penalized.

I would say supress both firing unit and targeted unit as they scream at eachother over the comms and try to figure out who's doing what to who with what and why.
 
Paladin said:
In the event that your own units are the victim of friendly fire, do they get a reaction as if they are an enemy? I don't see any reason not to, just wanted to make sure.

No, if you look at the reaction rules you will notice that it states any time an enemy unit completes an action within 10" or anytime an enemy unit shoots at you.

If you are shot by a friendly unit, no reaction for you.

LBH
 
lastbesthope said:
Paladin said:
In the event that your own units are the victim of friendly fire, do they get a reaction as if they are an enemy? I don't see any reason not to, just wanted to make sure.

No, if you look at the reaction rules you will notice that it states any time an enemy unit completes an action within 10" or anytime an enemy unit shoots at you.

If you are shot by a friendly unit, no reaction for you.

LBH

Correct, it is VERY explicit about this. Read the rules again and you will see...

Now if you sneak a control bug in from SST and take over an enemy soldier... and then HE fires at one of your units... THEN maybe you could make a case :wink:
 
Paladin said:
dsfrank has figured out exactly where I was ultimately going with the question. Here's a cookie. :D

Now here is a great merchandising opportunity by Mongoose! Make a series of "Battlefield Police/Lawyers" that arrest the offending models. Yet another model box to buy (mandatory, of course, heh). :lol:
 
Voracioustigger said:
lastbesthope said:
Paladin said:
In the event that your own units are the victim of friendly fire, do they get a reaction as if they are an enemy? I don't see any reason not to, just wanted to make sure.

No, if you look at the reaction rules you will notice that it states any time an enemy unit completes an action within 10" or anytime an enemy unit shoots at you.

If you are shot by a friendly unit, no reaction for you.

LBH

Correct, it is VERY explicit about this. Read the rules again and you will see...

Now if you sneak a control bug in from SST and take over an enemy soldier... and then HE fires at one of your units... THEN maybe you could make a case :wink:

Well if that was the case the controlled model would be acting in the enemy's turn so would be eligible for reactions. The rules are explicit about not getting reactions in your own turn.
 
we brits always get hit by freindly fire from the americans !!! doese that mean by the rules they are our enemy or is that why we just dont react much ?
 
Mr Evil said:
we brits always get hit by freindly fire from the americans !!! doese that mean by the rules they are our enemy or is that why we just dont react much ?

No, it's just a friendly reminder about Boston tea. :wink:
From within the game system of course, it looks like if the British and Americans were on the same team the answer would be no. But if you feel the need, you could always play the "Conflict Down Mexico Way" in S&P wargamer #42, heh. :lol:
 
Lorcan Nagle said:
Well if that was the case the controlled model would be acting in the enemy's turn so would be eligible for reactions. The rules are explicit about not getting reactions in your own turn.

Which emote should I use in the future so you know I'm joking?
 
Back
Top