Foreward arcs and reactions

cordas

Mongoose
In SST Classic, can units that have weapons that can only fire in certain arcs (such as the Skinnie heavy speeder) turn to fire them in a reaction. When looking the other day in the main rule book (and Skinnie Handbook) the only rules we could find said that some models can't turn in reaction, as we could find nothing saying this about the Skinnie HS we allowed it. Did we get it right by the rules?
 
I don't have the rules in front of me but I was reading them extensively yesterday. There are more kinds of reactions than shooting. And weapon arcs are unique restrictions based on model position. So my opinion is you use all the rules, unless there is a stated exception. A shooting weapon with a fixed arc it should still be bound by the rules for the fixed arc. Any other react shoot action would be feasible, but not a weapon shot outside its arc, since shooting and a pivot (move) are two separate actions. I admittedly don't have my Skinnie army book yet, so I don't know what other special reactions it has. IF it works like something with a ready that allows a special move and fire during movement (like jumping/x" or hover/x") than you should be able to use that action if the Skinnie HS was already readied before going on alert status.

I also learned from rereading the rules that one alert status rule restriction I've overlooked in the past is that MI can't individually go on ready from alert status, they must do that as a unit. So all MI in that unit must be within 10" of the enemy to use that alert status reaction.
 
Hmmm thanks for that Goldwyrm, I see what you are getting at, will need to re-read the rules to see if there is anything in arc restrictions that says they must MOVE to change their facing (as would make common sense. If so that would quite neatly answer the question.

As for you needing the entire squad to be in reaction range to ready... its a bit of a bummer but at least it has changed in Evo :)
 
cordas said:
Hmmm thanks for that Goldwyrm, I see what you are getting at, will need to re-read the rules to see if there is anything in arc restrictions that says they must MOVE to change their facing (as would make common sense. If so that would quite neatly answer the question.

As for you needing the entire squad to be in reaction range to ready... its a bit of a bummer but at least it has changed in Evo :)


I'm not sure I'm reading your question correctly. If I'm not (and in turn clarifying stuff you aren't asking for) I'm sorry up front.

The core rules are pretty clear and I believe you and Goldwyrm have them down. Just to restate for clarification:

If bug unit A causes a reaction on MI unit B, that reaction can be any standard reaction type. I.E. a beat feet action, a charge action, or a shoot action.

If the MI unit was not in a 'ready' state, then they can only do a basic reaction like stated above. If the MI unit 'was' all ready in a ready state, then they could also react with something like a special action. example "jump and fire". The 'jump and fire' special rule says that the MI can move and fire and that the shooting can be directed in any direction and blah blah blah but only if the MI unit was all ready in a ready state.

That being said I don't have my skinnie book with me at work but here is how I believe the rules would apply to you.

"if the skinnie Heavy Speeder is sitting there like normal and is called on to react, then the Heave Speeder can only shoot because it can't charge or beat feet." (I don't remember if speeders can actually charge or have a special 'beat feet' like ability so I'm just going to say they can shoot). If the shooting arch of the H.S. has no enemies in it's line of site, then shooting is pointless.

Now if the skinnie book has a H.S. rule that says it can be readied and take special ready reactions, then it can do more then stated above 'if' the H.S. was all ready.. um,.. well, "all ready readied". If not, then there is no 'moving' the H.S. to have line of sight and then shooting... because that would be two actions and not the single action a reaction gives you.











PS.

After all of that typing I realized your question is even simpler but I don't think the answer is clearly stated in any rule book. Arch firing is normally just a way to say 'fixed' facing. Tankers have Arch fire and can only spit straight ahead. At no point can a tanker turn it's head around 180 (like some bug-owl) and shot it's arch behind it's own body.

Arch vehicles should be 100% the same. If a gun is mounted (or on a turret with limited movement) to only shot straight ahead... and that vehicle is attacked from the rear... the guns have to be turned around to hit the attacker. Because you can't use magic Bugs Bunny ammo, you would have to turn the vehicle around before you could take a shot that had any chance of hitting an enemy.

So the SST main book would say "that can not happen"... However the Skinnie book might have a 'stop and pop' special rule that says a skinnie speeder can do just that (Turn and shoot) but only if the speeders have some kind of special rule listed. (like how hoppers have "Hover" or MI CAPS have "Jump and Fire" as a special rule.)

Like I said I don't have my skinnie book here but looking at Hiromon's cards as a reference and my memory for... well with my memory it's really only good to miss quote things... but using both the cards and my memory, I don't believe a speeder can do turn/shoot as a reaction.
 
There is nothing in the Skinnie book regarding Speeders (or heavy speeders) that adds anything that we could find. I suppose that its the fact that the HS has weapons that are arc limited that means it can't "turn" and shoot, where as a Speeder without the arc limitiations can.
 
Back
Top