Fleet Carrier trait question

Everyman

Mongoose
I have a question concerning the use of the fleet carrier trait to recover "destroyed" fighters. Psi Corp can take Earth Alliance ships as part of their fleet. An Avenger or Posidean could conceivably carry and therefore use fleet carrier to recover the various EA starfuries Aurora, Badger or Tiger. Therefore, could they recover Black Omega starfuries (which were launched from some other ship initially obviously) since they are simply standard Aurora starfuries with high rated ace psychic pilots?
 
This is probably an attack on fluff vs rules. Fleet Carrier states that it will only recover flights it normally carries. It does not normally carry Black Omegas and thus cannot recover them no matter different they paint their ships.

Dark Angel
 
Ruleswise, Black Omega's Aurora starfuries aren't counted as Aurora starfuries, and as such can't be recovered by standard EA fleet carriers.
 
In fluff terms if part of the recovery involves replacing injured or killed pilots, then there is no way the Avenger could do that.
 
Doesn't that lead us back to the bad discussions of whether the early ea could use black omegas due to the funny rule in their aux section? It's still a 'fury...

Ripple
 
What? Go into a dogfight with reasonable chances at succeeding without 3 or 4 flights backing you up? Ludicrous...

Dark Angel
 
Ripple said:
Doesn't that lead us back to the bad discussions of whether the early ea could use black omegas due to the funny rule in their aux section? It's still a 'fury...

Ripple
At least in that case I'd be able to say no due to it coming from a different fleet list :)
 
a Fury is a Fury is a Fury... Should be but there are "other" rules that say no. You could make up some fine home brew rules concerning this.. recover the fighter, jail the Psi punk, that sort of thing. Especially in a campaign setting.
 
A fury is a fury is a fury except you cant take something thats from a different fleet list just because its named the same thing!

Fluff is all well and good but the rule in this case is really very simple and extremely clear and attempting to twist it otherwise is just blatant powergaming worthy of a slap in my book ;)

As a similar example, if an ISA fleet fields a Morshin carrier as an ally, the Morshin could not recover Shial fighters since it cant carry them itself even though it is technically a variant of the Nial.
 
Locutus9956 said:
A fury is a fury is a fury except you cant take something thats from a different fleet list just because its named the same thing!

Fluff is all well and good but the rule in this case is really very simple and extremely clear and attempting to twist it otherwise is just blatant powergaming worthy of a slap in my book ;)

As a similar example, if an ISA fleet fields a Morshin carrier as an ally, the Morshin could not recover Shial fighters since it cant carry them itself even though it is technically a variant of the Nial.

Yeah. Pretty bogus rule. I agree. ;)
 
Also, for fluff reasons, think that the Fleet Carrier also takes into consideration the extra "fresh" pilots too...which a borrowed Avenger (or the like) would not have. Hence, their ability to refresh plain old thunderbolts and the like, but not the Black Omegas - they just don't have the trained psi-pilots on hand for it.

Does that make more sense?

-Bry
 
Mongoose Steele said:
Also, for fluff reasons, think that the Fleet Carrier also takes into consideration the extra "fresh" pilots too...which a borrowed Avenger (or the like) would not have. Hence, their ability to refresh plain old thunderbolts and the like, but not the Black Omegas - they just don't have the trained psi-pilots on hand for it.

Does that make more sense?

-Bry

I've not noted anything in fluff to indicate that the special characteristics of the Black Omega is due to anything other than the pilots special abilities. The ship itself is pretty much standard other than a flashy paint job. At the very least, a carrier could strip it for parts to use on another fighter.
 
Lord David the Denied said:
There's nothing in the rules that deals with spare parts and consumable supplies, though.

Face it, borrowed EA carriers can't recover Black Omega Starfuries! :P

Would be doable as a campaign house rule though. Splitting hairs between nials and shials is just silly. "Sorry, my carrier only has A6s so you can't land your EA6 here".
 
Going back to the fluff, it might be down to spares and supplies... :wink:

Seriously, rules sometimes make no sense but the line has to be drawn somewhere. The Shial isn't on the Minbari list so an allied Minbari Morshin can't recover them. Simple as, even if it seems daft.

I'd like to ask at this stage, actually, if a Centauri Balvarin can recover Rutarians? It can carry them but only if you pay to swap its normal complement for them. Other ships carry them as standard, though so they might be on the board anyway...
 
Back
Top