Fedayeen and IED's question

tiepilot1138

Banded Mongoose
I've searched through the forums and can't find an answer to this one. My apoogies if I've missed it.

When placing an IED, the card states that it may be placed with a charge action.

Does this mean that the unit actually charges, then places it? Or does it mean that the unit needs to move into contact, and then use a charge action to place it? Can it be reacted to? For example, the Feds charge and place the IED on a vehicle in cover. Does the vehicle get to react and mercilessly mow them down before the IED is placed?

Is the IED taking the place of a close combat action?
 
Okay, the Evo command has these answer available, but I'll go over them again for you.

1. the Fedayeen charge the ENEMY vehicle. Once they touch the vehicle they would place the charge. It is part of the Charge action. So, yes you Charge the vehicle just like you would charge any other enemy.
Evo command has that card errata, which is as the ruling with MP, that the vehicle has to be the enemies.

2. The vehicle reacts after the IEDs are placed, not before, as per normal rules, EXCEPT in the case of being behind cover. Then reaction takes place before the placement of the IED, as per normal rules in the main rule book.
 
Other helpful hints when using this ability:
1. Try to charge Vees like APCs that through the setup on their cards get no reaction. Getting gunned down with MGs may lead to paradise, but it won't help you win.
2. Don't forget to move backwards the free 2" after the charge. This will help you flee for cover on your next turn. If possible Charge the first action and the Move with the second to be out of LOS.
3. Don't assume your IED will kill the vee. If you don't have better targets of opportunity, shoot it with your RPGs for good measure. Better to make sure it's dead.
 
Back
Top