Example of Shooting

Soulmage

Mongoose
Posted this over at TMP in response to a request. Thought folks who don't have the rules yet might like to see it here:



Shooting Example:

The Prince of Wales and Hood are pursuing the Bismarck. After movement, the two Brittish ships are still pointing at the Bismarck, while the German ship has come about to present its broadside to the English and engage. Range is 22,000 yards. (22 inches).

Royal Navy won the initative, and chooses to shoot with the Prince of Wales first. Since the Bismarck is in the forward arc of the PoW, the English battleship can only fire is forward (A&B) turrets at the Bismarck plus its secondary weapons mounts (which are aggregated in a single stat line). Unfortunately, the secondary weapons are significantly out of range, so the PoW opens up with A turret containing 4x14in guns, and B turret containing 2x14in guns.

The PoW gets a total of 6 Attack Dice, one for each gun. (Doesn't always work out 1-1 for smaller bore weapons, but the big stuff generally does).

The target number of the Bismarck is a 4+. This gets increased to 5+ because 22,000yds is long range. However, the Bismarck has presented its broad side to the English, reducing the target back down to 4+. PoW rolls his attack dice and rolls a 1, 3, 4, 4, 6, and 2, scoring 3 hits!

Each 14" shell inflicts 2 damage dice, so the PoW rolls a total of 6 DD against the Bismarcks armor. Bismarck has an impressive armor rating of 6+, however long range means the incoming shells are plunging fire and the Bismarck does not have extra deck armor to offset this, so its armor rating is reduced to 5+. In addition, the 14" shells from the PoW are armor piercing, reducing the Bismarck's armor to 4+.

The PoW rolls its damage dice and scores 3, 1, 5, 3, 4, 6. That inflicts 3 points of damage on the Bismarck, plus a possible critical hit. The 6 is re-rolled, but does not get a 4+ and therefore no critical hit is inflicted.

The German player now gets to activate a ship in the shooting phase and chooses. . . the Bismarck!

The Bismarck is fires at long range at the Hood and is able to shoot its A,B,X, and Y turrets since they all have firing arc. A total of 8 15" guns! (Secondary weapons are also out of range for the Bismarck).

The Hood took a Flank Speed special action this turn trying to catch up, and moved more than 7" as a result. Its target # is 4+, +1 for moving more than 7", -1 for long range, -1 due to excellent German range finders, but the Bismarck's primitive radar is of no help in this situation. The modified target number for the Hood is therefore 4+.

Bismarck rolls 8 attack dice (1, 2, 3, 6, 5, 3, 1, 5) scoring 3 hits! Each 15" shell inflicts 3 damage dice for a total of 9 DD against the Hood.

The Hood's armor is 5+, -1 for plunging fire at long range (an no armored deck quality), -1 because the German shells are armor piercing for a modified armor of 3+.

Bismarck rolls 2, 3, 5, 4, 5, 6, 5, 6, 4, inflicting 8 points of damage on the Hood and two possible criticals. The 6s are re-rolled and come up 3, and 5. One critical!

Bismarck rolls on the critical table, and gets a 12 – Vital Systems! Rolling to see which system is hit, he gets a 6! Catastrophic explosion!! The holy grail of critical results (I've never seen one yet. . .) The Hood explodes into a enormous ball of flame and the burning wreckage sinks to the bottom, taking almost her entire crew complement with it!

That help at all?
 
What exactly was the state of the UK during WWII? Were you guys the UK at that time, or some oppressive tyrannical Brittish empire? LOL!!
 
Never have been a tyrannical empire :) Merely bringing sweetness, light and civility (not to mention tea, cricket, accountancy and the Civil Service) to the world :D

Act of Union (England and Scotland) in 1707, Act of Union (bringing Ireland on board) in 1801. First English Prince of Wales in 1301.
 
DM said:
Act of Union (England and Scotland) in 1707, Act of Union (bringing Ireland on board) in 1801. First English Prince of Wales in 1301.
Which, it should be noted, makes the current Queen Elizabeth the FIRST of Scotland...

Wulf
 
Wulf Corbett said:
DM said:
Act of Union (England and Scotland) in 1707, Act of Union (bringing Ireland on board) in 1801. First English Prince of Wales in 1301.
Which, it should be noted, makes the current Queen Elizabeth the FIRST of Scotland...

Wulf

That's no correct. Queen Elizabeth is Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The Scottish throne is entirely defunct. If it wasn't one of the Queen's titles would be Queen of Scots.
 
Lord David the Denied said:
That's no correct. Queen Elizabeth is Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The Scottish throne is entirely defunct. If it wasn't one of the Queen's titles would be Queen of Scots.
Yes, but her title is Queen Elizabeth the SECOND. Whereas in reality she's not the second Queen Elizabeth of either the UK, Great Britain, nor Northern Ireland - only of England.

Wulf
 
Soulmage,

Thanks for the shooting example. That is the clearest I have had it described yet. I like the feel of it, sounds really good fun.

Maybe one day if Mongoose EVER send me my PRE-Ordered copy of the ules that I paid for more than 2 weeks ago I shall be able to enjoy the rules too.

Cpt Kremmen
 
Wulf Corbett said:
Yes, but her title is Queen Elizabeth the SECOND. Whereas in reality she's not the second Queen Elizabeth of either the UK, Great Britain, nor Northern Ireland - only of England.

Wulf

That's a minor matter of protocol, as it was the English throne that expanded to cover the new kingdom of Great Britain, in the same way as the throne of Wessex expanded to become the throne of England. The titles from the other Saxon kingdoms were dropped.
 
Soulmage said:
The Hood took a Flank Speed special action this turn trying to catch up, and moved more than 7" as a result. Its target # is 4+, +1 for moving more than 7", -1 for long range, -1 due to excellent German range finders, but the Bismarck's primitive radar is of no help in this situation. The modified target number for the Hood is therefore 4+.

Could you explain the bit about the radar a bit more?

Also it looks like the target number should be 3+ in the example you gave above.
 
Radar assisted gunnery can reduce the penalties for long-range fire. However the German radar systems are fairly primitive and only work in the forward arc. However, they do still have the improved range finders mentioned.

Yeah, in my original example I had actually added it the wrong way. Doesn't look like my quick fix worked either. *shrug* I think people get the point.

The actual modifiers are applied to the die roll which (IMO) makes things easier. I just adjusted the target number for ease of explanation.
 
Back
Top