[Dragon Warriors] Curse spell

<fumbles with the rulebook>

Bear with us; I'm a little unsure about this...

<resumes fumbling with the rulebook>
 
Hey,

This is sorta related to the other thread. Gulruin has access to the curse spell, and I think it a little odd that a 4th-rank spell would last only six seconds.

I'll be patient, take your time.

Are you one of the game's designers?

jason
 
I can see the problem; the Curse spell description in the new Rulebook doesn't mention anything about duration.

I've raised this on the Dragon Warriors Yahoo Group (http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/dragwars/) and hopefully we'll get a definitive answer from The Guys That Know Dragon Warriors Inside And Out.

Me, a designer? Nope; I'm just being helpful!
 
Yeah, that works. But, if that's the case, then why list some spells as Spell Expiry and others - that are Spell Expiry - aren't?

Anyway, unless I hear otherwise, I'll probably rule that Curse's duration is Spell Expiry.

cheers,

jason
 
Result! Basically, the Curse spell description should also state: "Duration: lasts until Dispelled".

Therefore, to remove the Curse, either:

* The sixth-rank Sorceror spell "Dispel Magic" must be successfully cast within 5 metres of the Cursed person/thing.
OR
* The Sorceror that cast Curse on a person/thing can deliberately Terminate the spell (Rulebook page 78).

Here's the full response from HE.Blackarm - a veteran on the Dragwars Yahoo Group:

"My own view is, despite the omission, it can be dispelled, as can any spell. However, there is room for GM discretion here. It might make a nice little adventure / scenario / campaign hook for Merlin the Sorcerer to shake his head at a failed Dispel attempt and advise Sir Robin the Brave, accursed as he is with, oh, say, cowardice, that the only way to remove the curse is to venture forth into the forests of Algandy to fight the Knights Who Say Ni. Indeed, Merlin might have told a pork pie and have an ulterior motive for eliminating the Knights Who Say Ni, Sir Robin merely being a tool of his grander machinations ;-)"

I liked the Monty Python reference!
 
Jiminy said:
Result! Basically, the Curse spell description should also state: "Duration: lasts until Dispelled".

Therefore, to remove the Curse, either:

* The sixth-rank Sorceror spell "Dispel Magic" must be successfully cast within 5 metres of the Cursed person/thing.
OR
* The Sorceror that cast Curse on a person/thing can deliberately Terminate the spell (Rulebook page 78).

Here's the full response from HE.Blackarm - a veteran on the Dragwars Yahoo Group:

"My own view is, despite the omission, it can be dispelled, as can any spell. However, there is room for GM discretion here. It might make a nice little adventure / scenario / campaign hook for Merlin the Sorcerer to shake his head at a failed Dispel attempt and advise Sir Robin the Brave, accursed as he is with, oh, say, cowardice, that the only way to remove the curse is to venture forth into the forests of Algandy to fight the Knights Who Say Ni. Indeed, Merlin might have told a pork pie and have an ulterior motive for eliminating the Knights Who Say Ni, Sir Robin merely being a tool of his grander machinations ;-)"

I liked the Monty Python reference!

Ha, what a great reply. Thanks so much for your help. Happy gaming!
 
Reply to kintire: You should assume that any other spell that does not explicitly state a duration will also last until it is either Dispelled or Terminated.
 
Back
Top