DM!!!! A question for you regarding your house rules!!!!

vitalis6969

Mongoose
I have a question regarding the house rules that you use for ships turning. The following is from your site (Awesome site by the way!!)

Turning

Ships in VAS turn at far slower rates that their real life counterparts. I am still developing an alternative turning system based on turning circles. In the meantime the following is recommended.

* Ships can make their turns after travelling half their MOVEMENT in the curent turn rather than their Speed. For example, a destroyer moving at 6" can make its turns after travelling 3".
* All ships can make a second set of turns at the end of their movement PROVIDED they turned at the half-movement point and no later. In the example above the destroyer could turn at 3" and again at 6", but not at 4" and 6".
* Ships with the "Agile" trait increase their turn number by 1." There are no other effects.


1. Ok, first question, is "movement" the current speed of the vessel or its listed speed?

2. "All ships can make a second set of turns at the end of their movement" So a ship with a turn rating of one can turn twice, right?

3. "PROVIDED they turned at the half-movement point and no later." This isn't a question yet, but is important for item four.. :D

4. "Ships with Agile trait increase their turn number by one." So, a Destroyer with a turn of 2 plus the Agile trait now has a turn of three. In addition add in item number two "all ships can make a second set of turns at the end of their movement", this is now totaling 4 (FOUR) turns for the destroyer. The question is when is the destroyer supposed to use them? According to item 3 (remember, I said it would be important :D ) the destroyer can't turn at any time between its halfway point and its end point. And it can't turn before its halfway point. So when do the four turns get used?

I know I am probably reading way too much into this and confusing myself, but I want to make sure and get this right. What happens if the Destroyer is only moving 3 inches?

Any help on this will be greatly appreciated!!!

-V
 
'movement' as DM seems to have used it is the speed that the ship has /chosen/ to move (anything up to its listed movement total). There is nothing in the rules that states you have to move your full move, or even half your move (which is the case in ACTA).

A ship with a turn rating of 1 can make 2 x 1 point turn, one half way through its movement, 1 at the end.

An agile ship with 2 turning value originally could now make 2 turns (as all ships can make 2 turns) each of 3 points (because its turning value is increased by 1 from agile)? at least that's how I read it.
 
Thanks, you just cleared everything up for me... I'm such a dough-head... I keep getting turns and turning value confused between VaS and ACTA when I read things....

Jeez, I feel dumb... :oops:

-V
 
Back
Top