Daernath Vakeros.

A

Anonymous

Guest
Hello all.
I just bought MoM and am generally impressed. One section confuses me though. In the Vakeros section the specialist ability for those from Daernath allows for a variety of magical attacks. This cleverly removes the need for different spell listings to represent different effects (such as a sonic attack for 'Power Word' or a bludgeoning effect for 'Invisable Fist').

Maybe I'm being a bit thick, however, but this section does seem a bit ambiguous. I'm assuming one point of willpower is required to do base magical damage, but can the cost be increased to do more damage? Is a magical combat roll needed to hit, or an occult check to cast? What is the maximum range? Please help!
 

FallenAngel

Mongoose
I already asked Ian and August pretty much every question about the Dearnath college possible.
Here are the answers I got(which makes them pretty much official I guess):

1. Range: 60 feet.
2. Standard action to cast.
3. You need a Cobalt weapon in hand to fire them(they are actually channeled down your sword(or whatever weapon you use)).
4. The cost for firing one is equal to the cost of whatever Dearnath college spell you know(if you know multiple ones, you can choose which cost you want to pay).
5. Firing one doesn't count against your daily limit of Battle magic spells and can be done as often as you can afford it.
6. This counts as a supernatural ability.

Hope that helps.
 
A

Anonymous

Guest
Here is Augusts reply to the same question I had, a few months ago.

<quote MongooseAugust>
Magebolts take one spell the Vakeros can cast per day as their cost. They have no Willpower cost on thier own, but when the spells run out, so does the ability to throw magebolts. They have the standard 60 foot range and can be used once per round just like casting a spell (it is an attack action to do so).
</endquote>
 

August

Mongoose
Yep, Xex. But Ian and I brainstormed and hammered out the answer I gave Fallen Angel. We are currently compiling an errata/FAQ, so answers given in the past may change as we move to a list of official one.

:)

-A
 
A

Anonymous

Guest
I've only recently discovered the forum and haven't looked though every topic yet (there is a lot to get through!), so thanks for repeating this info.
 
A

Anonymous

Guest
Ah I see. Since it counts as a supernatural ability I suppose it will not be subject to counterspell? Also, if it mimics the cost of another daernath spell, does it also require an occult check?

I'm glad an errata for the minor errors and common (and some not so common) is in the works; I know columnbob from tower of the sun was going to try to type one up, not sure if he got around to it.
 

columbob

Mongoose
Xex said:
Ah I see. Since it counts as a supernatural ability I suppose it will not be subject to counterspell? Also, if it mimics the cost of another daernath spell, does it also require an occult check?

I'm glad an errata for the minor errors and common (and some not so common) is in the works; I know columnbob from tower of the sun was going to try to type one up, not sure if he got around to it.

I haven't touched it since the holidays, to be honest! I'm not sure it would be too useful anymore if August and Ian do one too, unless I could help them collect the answers they've already given on these forums.
 

bbogard

Mongoose
So does anyone know when the official errata will be available and what material it will cover?
 
Top