Supplement Four
Mongoose
Am I reading the Delay option correctly? By giving up an entire round, a character can take the nish (be top initiative) on the following round?
Pg: 206, 2E. If a player comes to his next action and has not yet performed an action, he does not get to take a delayed action in the next round, though he can delay again. If he takes a delayed action in the next round, before his regular turn comes up, his initiative count rises to that new point in the order of battle and he does not get his regular action that round.
If I'm reading that correctly, Conan is supposed to go on 7 during the first round. At his action (7), his player announces that Conan is delaying.
Now, the combat finishes with all the other actors in the round and Conan still hasn't gone. He basically loses his action this round, and we go into the next round. The first actor in the second round acts on 2, the second one acts on 4, the third one on 6, and Conan should go on 7, but, inestead, he decides to go 3, so that now, Conan is second to act in the round.
Or, Conan could decide to go on 1, which becomes his new nish count, and he all of a sudden has initiative over everyone else.
Is this correct and how you read the rule?
Pg: 206, 2E. If a player comes to his next action and has not yet performed an action, he does not get to take a delayed action in the next round, though he can delay again. If he takes a delayed action in the next round, before his regular turn comes up, his initiative count rises to that new point in the order of battle and he does not get his regular action that round.
If I'm reading that correctly, Conan is supposed to go on 7 during the first round. At his action (7), his player announces that Conan is delaying.
Now, the combat finishes with all the other actors in the round and Conan still hasn't gone. He basically loses his action this round, and we go into the next round. The first actor in the second round acts on 2, the second one acts on 4, the third one on 6, and Conan should go on 7, but, inestead, he decides to go 3, so that now, Conan is second to act in the round.
Or, Conan could decide to go on 1, which becomes his new nish count, and he all of a sudden has initiative over everyone else.
Is this correct and how you read the rule?