Charge

Charge rule

  • I give a free atack when completing charge

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I give an attack on the same CA if the player wants to spend an action

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • The player can attack in his next CA if he wants

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • None of them (explain why or what do you do)

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    0

gran_orco

Mongoose
I have read in Monsters II, page 8:
Trample: a creature with this trait may trample even if it has only one combat action - the trample is assumed to be part of its movement.
And later, in the master's handbook, the example of combat, Jurgen uses his 2nd action to charge and the 3rd action to complete the charge and do his base damage plus 1D4.

I supposed that the charge action should give you a free attack, but the sentences above suggest me that you can do an attack later if you have more actions.

How should it be or how do you do this?
 
If you cant stab somebody at the end of it, it doesnt really seem like a charge, just a movement. For me, if you charge you get to chop.
 
AI have always understaood a charge to allow a move and attack as one action.

My interpretation of the mentioned example is that a charge can span a couple of actions.

For example if a character moves full speed for one action, and at the end of that action is 2 meters from his target, he can complete the charge with his next action even though he only moved 2 meters.
 
I think Gran Orco is misunderstanding the rules. A charge is a combined move and attack. It is possible that a charge may take multiple actions if the distance is too far to cover in a single action.
 
Deleriad said:
I think Gran Orco is misunderstanding the rules. A charge is a combined move and attack. It is possible that a charge may take multiple actions if the distance is too far to cover in a single action.

No, I am not misunderstanding the rules. I have given one free attack to players who charge, as a part of the CA. But the combat example of game master's handbook made me doubt. In that example the attacker is separated 5 metres from his foe. He charges using one action but he rolls on his next CA with the +1D4 modifier...
 
gran_orco said:
Deleriad said:
I think Gran Orco is misunderstanding the rules. A charge is a combined move and attack. It is possible that a charge may take multiple actions if the distance is too far to cover in a single action.

No, I am not misunderstanding the rules. I have given one free attack to players who charge, as a part of the CA. But the combat example of game master's handbook made me doubt. In that example the attacker is separated 5 metres from his foe. He charges using one action but he rolls on his next CA with the +1D4 modifier...

Well, without having the GM's Handbook in front of me there are two options. One is that the GM's Handbook combat example is wrong. This would be part of a noble tradition.

Or that someone at Mongoose has stated that you can't move faster than your MOV rating while charging and that you need to move more than your MOV in metres in order to charge. If that is the case it will always take at least two actions to charge by definition.

My bet is on the GM's handbook being wrong. I should say that it is surprisingly hard to write combat examples without making mistakes. When I did so it took me several edits to catch all the mistakes I made.
 
I would also assume that the example is wrong. After all, while charging you may move double your MOVE, so 5meters should be no problem at all.

I believe it's a single CA to both move up to twice your MOVE and attack with the d4 damage bonus. You actually need to be a minimum of 5 meters away.
Suppose you have MOVE 4. If you are 10meters away from your opponent, you'd spend your first CA to move 4meters, you'd spend your second CA to charge your opponent, moving 6m and attack wit hthe damage boost.
If you somehow end 4meters away from your foe but have spent your previous actions to move only towards the enemy I'd still count that as a charge and thus allow the charge action.

As for the poll:
An attack at the same time as the charge CA, but without having to spend another CA
I'm still seriously baffled that there is no possibility to close with an enemy without triggering a reaction free attack. We have decided that a charge does not trigger the free attack but that causes the strangest move actions. By the time the opponents moved into a postion from which they can charge (and thus prevent the free hack), missile weapons have already done their part. I've seen a rather annyoing increase in - and preference of - ranged combat.
 
Denalor said:
By the time the opponents moved into a postion from which they can charge (and thus prevent the free hack), missile weapons have already done their part. I've seen a rather annyoing increase in - and preference of - ranged combat.
Just like Romans and their bloody pilum! A great way of breaking up a charge... :D
 
I'm not a military tactics guy, but I always thought the Roman pilium was used to make a concentrated ranged attack against the enemy line just prior to a charge (and thus a charge more or less into an open formation).

Which remind me: are there anywhere rules for mass combat ? Many NPCs in Blood of Orlanth have the Lore (Tactics) skill, and I just wonder what use it is...
 
Denalor said:
I'm not a military tactics guy, but I always thought the Roman pilium was used to make a concentrated ranged attack against the enemy line just prior to a charge (and thus a charge more or less into an open formation).
It was used just prior to contact with the enemy unit, whether the enemy was charging, or the Romans preparing for their own charge. However, a pilum volley is slightly more effective against an enemy charge, since falling enemy wounded are more likely to cause those following to tumble over them, and thus create a greater disruption to the charging unit. :)

Denalor said:
Which remind me: are there anywhere rules for mass combat ? Many NPCs in Blood of Orlanth have the Lore (Tactics) skill, and I just wonder what use it is...
They are in MRQ Legendary Heroes.
 
Back
Top