Bore weapons and concentrate all fire power

What up!
Just got back from a game. And the following situation presented itself.
Vorlons vs Earth Alliance
We move our Destroyer and turn him continuing with the rest of the remaining speed.
The EA player moves after our Destroyer and declares bore shot. No problem. But then they want concentrate all fire power. I said you would have had to make a turn, as small as it may be, and given space, to get the bore on me. Hence, you cannot concentrate all fire power, no turns.
We went back and forth. The ruling fell in my favor.
But was I right? Is there a way to handling such situations?
Any help is great appreciated.
GFP OUT
 
If you cannot geometrically prove that the enemy has not moved off your boresight -- and the only circumstances I can think of are shots already lined up against completely stopped targets or when you are mutually boresighted and your opponent did not turn at all -- are are almost certainly not in boresight arc unless you turn specifically to boresight the target (usually post-move, for obvious reasons).

Infinitesemally small distances off center-to-center is not in boresight arc. Technically, the arc is a two-dimensional plane, not a three-dimensional space.

Note that gravity wells can turn boresighted ships. This, in rare cases, has allowed boresighted ships to CAF, but you really need to set this shot up and/or have the right terrain.

Final note -- it has been ruled that you can't fire Gravitic Shifters on your own ships, so that's one last method that won't work, either. Nice try, though!
 
CZ has pretty much mentioned all the cases where you can boresight without turning, as mentioned gravity wells and orbiting allow you to turn but for SAs you are treated as having not turned.

Oh and technically the boresight arcs are 1 dimensional lines not 2 dimensional planes, they are long lines of zero width :lol:

LBH
 
They'd better be two-dimensional: all of my figures are of different heights depending on the number of times I've snapped and had to file down a new plastic peg for the base.

In particular, I've got a Targrath that's snapped at lest three times and is therefore only about 2 1/2" of the ground. I'd love to say flies under all those boresight arcs, but I doubt any of my opponents will go for that one.
 
Well it's one dimensional working on the basis that the 3rd dimension has been abstracted almost out of consideration in ACTA. Even the rulebook describes the boresight arc as a straight line, and lines are 1 dimensional, having only length.

But if you wish to view it as 2 dimensional then yes, it is a 2 dimensional plane, though that plane is at right angles to the playing surface of the table.

LBH
 
Lots of input.
basically, if I moved a ship to the left, and then my opponent wants a bore shot on me, he has to turn to some degree, as small as it may seem.
Concentrate all fire power while you are getting a bore shot is difficult.
Unless, you have a damaged ship that cannot move, you should be able to negate your opponent from doing this.
 
Galactic Fatt Patt said:
Concentrate all fire power while you are getting a bore shot is difficult.Unless, you have a damaged ship that cannot move, you should be able to negate your opponent from doing this.

Precisely.

So if you want to consistently get rerolls for your boresight weapons bring along scout or two.
 
Back
Top