Attack dice long range query

Attack dice hit on a 4,5,6 with a 6 bypassing shields.

Beyond half range you take one off your dice roll. Does this mean you never bypass shields beyond half range or does a natural six still bypass?

Under disruptors it says a Klingon has to get in close to match a photon torpedo. As disruptors do not have a kill zone and both disruptors and photons may be overloaded I do not see how that works?

Andy
 
Don't know enough about ACTA, but in SFB/FedCmdr, disruptors do half the damage of a photon but fire twice as often. Also, while the damage disruptors inflicts drops off as range increase, and a photon does the same amount of damage no matter what the range is, the disruptor has better to-hit odds at longer range than the photon. Ergo, over time, both average the same amount of damage to the enemy. Does that help?
 
A weapon without the Accurate trait can't bypass shields at over half range, so it only applies to Photon Torpedoes (and maybe Plasma fired as bolts) out of the current weapons.

That statement about Disruptors refers to them being overloaded (hence "get in close"). Overloaded Disruptors still fire twice as often as an overloaded Photon Torpedo (due to the Reload trait), so they still do the same basic damage in the same space of time in equivalent modes.
 
The rule for Shields says that "Every Attack Dice that rolls a '6' bypasses shields..."

I read that as any natural '6' goes past the shields at any range (except for drones and plasma torpedoes).

Which is simple but has the odd effect that shields are proportionately *less* effective against long-range fire.

If you took it as a modified '6' or better, then Phaser-1s at close range, benefiting from Accurate +2, would bypass shields on a roll of 4+.

That would certainly make for quick games.
 
Iain McGhee said:
A weapon without the Accurate trait can't bypass shields at over half range, so it only applies to Photon Torpedoes (and maybe Plasma fired as bolts) out of the current weapons.

Not sure what you mean - accurate has no relation to bypassing shields? A roll of natural 6 works as long as it is not seeking weapon. Range is irrelevant for this.
 
andywatkins1963 said:
Attack dice hit on a 4,5,6 with a 6 bypassing shields.

Beyond half range you take one off your dice roll. Does this mean you never bypass shields beyond half range or does a natural six still bypass?

Under disruptors it says a Klingon has to get in close to match a photon torpedo. As disruptors do not have a kill zone and both disruptors and photons may be overloaded I do not see how that works?

Andy
Nomad is correct. A natural 6 on the attack dice will bypass the shields regardless of range.
Less attacks will actaully hit the ship due to the -1 modifier, but proportionally more of those that do connect will bypass the shields.
In the same vein, a short range attack wiht Accurate +2 phasers hit on a 2 through 6, but you do not bypass shields on a 4, 5, or 6 - only a 6.

And Iain is correct abotu the disruptors comment. They are not as effective as Photons on a shot per shot basis, but since they can fire every turn, they can equal the damage output over time.
 
Da Boss said:
Iain McGhee said:
A weapon without the Accurate trait can't bypass shields at over half range, so it only applies to Photon Torpedoes (and maybe Plasma fired as bolts) out of the current weapons.

Not sure what you mean - accurate has no relation to bypassing shields? A roll of natural 6 works as long as it is not seeking weapon. Range is irrelevant for this.

Jayne mode on/ Well, now I know that /Jayne mode off :)

If it wasn't natural sixes that were required to bypass shields (but modified rolls of 6+ as I thought) it wouldn't be possible for weapons without Accurate to do so with the -1 to hit modifier at over half range.
 
Thanks guys,

So natural 6's bypass shields whatever the range. Would be good if rules said that somewhere, maybe one for errata somewhere.

Andy
 
Back
Top