Are Multiple Medic Checks Allowed?

bworth0001

Mongoose
Hello, MT2 forum... I am new to second edition rules and hoping to find some answers to a few questions ...

Are multiple medic checks permitted when applying first aid or surgery? Core Rules indicate that First Aid must be initiated within one minute of the injury (p. 78) and that a First Aid check lasts 1D minutes (p. 67) thus a second 1st Aid check, it seems, is not permissible. Surgery, however, appears to permit multiple skill checks. Seriously injured Travellers, who have sustained damage to three characteristics, must have one characteristic at full level before benefiting from medical care. This implies that the surgeon rolls medical checks until the Traveller either dies (through failed checks) or has one characteristic fully restored.

Sound right?

Thanks!

Ben

Errata: Latest pdf says First Aid takes 1D rounds = 6-36 seconds.

So, yes, multiple First Aid actions seems to be allowed. (But I would not allow it, since multiple rolls slows things down and removes the tension. One roll, move on.)

Yes, you can do multiple surgeries, until you are almost healed, minimising downtime.

Thanks, AnotherDilbert. I like the one check only rule for 1st aid.

A related question... once medical care begins, how long until a Traveller is fully healed? TNX!

Thanks, AnotherDilbert. I like the one check only rule for 1st aid.

A related question... once medical care begins, how long until a Traveller is fully healed? TNX!

If there's a factor change, the medic either notices something new or remembers a more effective treatment.

Or a better medical practitioner takes an interest.

bworth0001 said:
Hello, MT2 forum... I am new to second edition rules and hoping to find some answers to a few questions ...