In a recent tourney, I had two Nials jump a Vorlon fighter. Now, as the Vorlon has its own Advanced Anti-Fighter Trait, I fully expected that one of my Nials would be destroyed, but leaving the other to destroy the Vorlon fighter in a dog-fight.
However, my opponent moved his remaining fighters to within 2" range of the Nials and used all 6 of their AAF to destroy both flights.
Now the way our group, which includes one of the playtesters - Greg Smith - plays the AF rule is that you only get the AF roll if you are attacked and NOT if you are the one attacking...
Another playtester - Triggy - was at the same tourney, and he confirmed that my Vorlon opponent was correct, AF is used on offence as well as defence.
After re-checking the rulebook, the way that the rules are worded in this case, does tend to indicate (to me at least) that this is indeed the case.
If their has been a previous discussion about this, and it was resolved, I apologise... though I did go through the Rulesmasters posts for about 5 pages...
However, my opponent moved his remaining fighters to within 2" range of the Nials and used all 6 of their AAF to destroy both flights.
Now the way our group, which includes one of the playtesters - Greg Smith - plays the AF rule is that you only get the AF roll if you are attacked and NOT if you are the one attacking...
Another playtester - Triggy - was at the same tourney, and he confirmed that my Vorlon opponent was correct, AF is used on offence as well as defence.
After re-checking the rulebook, the way that the rules are worded in this case, does tend to indicate (to me at least) that this is indeed the case.
If their has been a previous discussion about this, and it was resolved, I apologise... though I did go through the Rulesmasters posts for about 5 pages...