Ambush clarifications

Karhedron

Mongoose
Hello, I am playing an Ambush game as part of a campaign shortly and I would like to clear up some points.

SCENARIO RULES: The Attacker automatically wins Initiative in the first turn. The Defending player may only act normally with his ships if they first pass a Crew Quality check (target number 10). If a ship fails this check, it must move 6" (or up to it's maximum speed if less than 6) in a straight line. The defending player's fighters may all act normally.

I am not sure from the above if the Defending player's ships can act normally from turn 2 onwards. Does the above special rule only apply on turn 1?

If the rule lasts the entire game I cannot see how the Defender could ever win. A CQ 4 ship would need to roll a 6 just to wake up and a CQ 3 ship (entirely possible in a campaign) would not be able to act at all. Also I cannot imagine any crew continuing to act like nothing has happened once it becomes clear they are under attack.

Please could someone clarify this for as at the moment I am feeling a bit nervous. :(
 
This was one of the scenarios updated in 2nd ed. In 1st Ed the defender could do nothing the first turn and act normally from turn 2 on. Now you have to chance to allow your ships to act on turn 1, but all your ships can act normally from turn 2 on.
 
In that case it's in serious need of errataing. When this one came up, we ended up house-ruling that a 6 always succeeds on the basis that my opponent's CQ3 ship would never succeed otherwise, and the rules as written don't say anything about it only applying for the first turn.
 
Back
Top