AG36 grenade launcher and other bursty weapons

GJD

Banded Mongoose
Three quick questions, one specifically about the AG36 and two general ones. Looking for an official word here from anyone with access to the advanced rules (if such a person exists) or one of the powers PTB...

Firstly, the AG36 grenade launcher blurb doesn't specifically state it, but I'm assuming that firing the grenade is instead of firing the rifle? My assumption is based on the entries for the MG's etc on the tanks, which state they can be fired in a single shoot action with other weapon systems.

Secondly, when using the grenade (and other bursting weapons) it seems to me you have to roll it's initial d6+1 with any other fire for that shoot action, assign the dice in order and then work out who is within the 1" burst range to get the extra D6. Now, this could mean that those figures already have dice assigned, so you could be doubling up on some figures, whilst other figures have no dice. Or, do the burst dice replace any dice already there, which are then assigned to any figures without dice already?

Finally, do figures assigned these extra explosion dice still benefit from any cover, as the grenade/rocket/tank shell may be exploding beside them, they might not have anything to get between them and it - hence no cover?

Cheers.

G.
 
irstly, the AG36 grenade launcher blurb doesn't specifically state it, but I'm assuming that firing the grenade is instead of firing the rifle? My assumption is based on the entries for the MG's etc on the tanks, which state they can be fired in a single shoot action with other weapon systems.

This is correct. Generally if it's not explicitly stated in the rules or on the card, then you can't do it.

Secondly, when using the grenade (and other bursting weapons) it seems to me you have to roll it's initial d6+1 with any other fire for that shoot action, assign the dice in order and then work out who is within the 1" burst range to get the extra D6. Now, this could mean that those figures already have dice assigned, so you could be doubling up on some figures, whilst other figures have no dice. Or, do the burst dice replace any dice already there, which are then assigned to any figures without dice already?

also correct - the burst damage is rolled after firing dice are assigned (but still count towards supression for that fire action), so a specific model can get multiple dice assigned to it. Remember that most tank main guns and LAWs can choose their target in a fire zone if it's of a certain size or greater.

Finally, do figures assigned these extra explosion dice still benefit from any cover, as the grenade/rocket/tank shell may be exploding beside them, they might not have anything to get between them and it - hence no cover?

Matt clarified this the other day - if they're in cover, they get +2 to target and kill as normal, but if they're only obscured then they get the +1 to target if the obscuring terrain is between them and the explosion.
 
If they're in a forest they can get cover, if I remember correctly, but if they're behind a wall touching it, and the grenade gets behind them, they don't get cover.
 
Exactly - so long as they're in or have intervening cover - then they get the bonus. Let's try and do a little diagram..

Code:
     |   
X  Y | O  
     |

OK, let's assume X, Y and O are all infantrymen 1" apart, and the row of pipes is a wall large enough to provide a cover bonus.

If trooper X is hit by a weapon with a 1" area of effect, trooper Y gets hit with one damage dice, rolled against his normal hit and kill ratings.

If trooper Y is hit by the grenade, then trooper X gets hit with a damage dice against his normal hit and kill ratings, and trooper O gets hit, but his hit and kill ratings get the +2 cover bonus.

If trooper O is hit, then trooper Y gets caught in the blast, and gets a cover bonus due to the wall.

Here's a question though. Let's say trooper O gets hit by a weapon with a 2" AOE, like a tank's main gun. Trooper Y will get the cover bonus because he's within 1" of the wall (his size), but will Trooper X get a cover bonus (the main arguement being because the point of impact is so close to the wall) or just obscured?
 
Thanks all, very useful answers and in line with what I expected (which is good!)

Lorcan, in the last example I'd say he gets the obscured bonus if still in the blast radius, but not adjacent to the cover. He can't hunker down behind it, like Private Y can do, but it's still going to dissipate the concussion and absorb some shrapnel somewhat.

G.
 
According to the rules, he'd need to be within PBR of the wall to get cover bonus... or at least that's my read, so I think GJD has it right.
 
Okay...so you like getting hit with Soggy newspapers then...

Anyway, I hope you, GJD, found this helpful and give you a few ideas on how to solve rule issues...
 
Back
Top