ACTA: Sky Serpent deployment

Burger

Cosmic Mongoose
When setting up, can a Strikehawk start with its Sky Serpent deployed using the Sky Hook Catapult rules, that is up to 8" in the F arc? O does it have to be in base contact?

If it can, does the Sky Serpent have to start within the deployment zone, or can it be fired outside as long as the Strikehawk remains within the zone?
 
Initially deployed fighters are not 'launched'. You can put them anywhere within your deloyment zone, if you want to benefit from the catapult you must keep the fighter on it and 'launch' once the game has started.
 
Locutus9956 said:
Initially deployed fighters are not 'launched'. You can put them anywhere within your deloyment zone
Oh really never knew that... thought they had to be in launch range of the capital ship... thanks :D
 
Burger said:
Locutus9956 said:
Initially deployed fighters are not 'launched'. You can put them anywhere within your deloyment zone
Oh really never knew that... thought they had to be in launch range of the capital ship... thanks :D

Thats not right, any fighters deployed on the table (as in ones contained in a cap), start on the caps base.
 
Reaverman said:
Thats not right, any fighters deployed on the table (as in ones contained in a cap), start on the caps base.
Can you quote page and paragraph for that rule? Because otherwise, it's anywhere within the deployment area.

Wulf
 
Wulf Corbett said:
Reaverman said:
Thats not right, any fighters deployed on the table (as in ones contained in a cap), start on the caps base.
Can you quote page and paragraph for that rule? Because otherwise, it's anywhere within the deployment area.

Wulf

Yes I can;

SFOS page 10 said:
Deployment
A ship may only deploy one flight
before the start of a battle. This is
optional and represents a patrolling
flight being used to safeguard the ship
while in hostile territory, a fairly normal
procedure. The one exception to this
is during the Ambush scenario, where
the attacker is free to deploy all of his
fighters before the start of the battle.
When a fl ight is launched from a ship,
it is now placed touching the counter
or base of the ship rather than within
3”. Equally, for a ship to recover a
flight of auxiliary craft, the fl ight must
be touching its counter or base.
Wings bought separately may be
deployed outside of ships as normal.
 
Reaverman said:
SFOS page 10 said:
Deployment
A ship may only deploy one flight
before the start of a battle.

...

When a flight is launched from a ship,
it is now placed touching the counter
or base of the ship rather than within
3”.
[my highlighting]
Notice the two different conditions discussed by these two paragraphs (there is a paragraph separation just before the second section I quote). Deploying before battle is not launching.

Wulf
 
I'm sure he'll answer himself soon enough, but the launching rules only apply during the game, not when setting up. I can see how the rule could be read that way but deploying and launching fighters (as far as the rules go) are two different things entirely. And they only need to be touching the base when launched, not on it. That could get confusing trying to remember what had launched and what was on escort.
 
Iain McGhee said:
I'm sure he'll answer himself soon enough, but the launching rules only apply during the game, not when setting up. I can see how the rule could be read that way but deploying and launching fighters (as far as the rules go) are two different things entirely. And they only need to be touching the base when launched, not on it. That could get confusing trying to remember what had launched and what was on escort.

This is why I reckon the ACTA Vs2, really does require more examples (maybe a picture or diagram)
 
Reaverman said:
Iain McGhee said:
I'm sure he'll answer himself soon enough, but the launching rules only apply during the game, not when setting up. I can see how the rule could be read that way but deploying and launching fighters (as far as the rules go) are two different things entirely. And they only need to be touching the base when launched, not on it. That could get confusing trying to remember what had launched and what was on escort.

This is why I reckon the ACTA Vs2, really does require more examples (maybe a picture or diagram)
Definitely, more diagrams and examples if well chosen can really illustrate rules well.
 
Back
Top