ACTA: Jump Points scattering off table

Ah, beaten to the punch I see, well, I too look forward to this answer :)

I've personally always played it that it stops at the table edge, but others have played it as it just doesnt work, it just seems a tad harsh with jump points scattering 3d6 (thats a potentially VERY big scatter even for a CQ6 ship) to the point where using non advanced jump points would seem far too risky....

But I'm happy to go with whatever the official line on this one is :)
 
Don't open your JPs within 14" of the table edge.

I would say, put the JP on the table edge. But that is an entirely unnofficial and possibly way too nice answer.
 
We play that it scatters off the table and you can't use it. But, that was in 1e, when the scatter was only 2d6 and you could just open another in 2 turns. It hasn't come up in 2e before for us.
 
Burger said:
We play that it scatters off the table and you can't use it. But, that was in 1e, when the scatter was only 2d6 and you could just open another in 2 turns. It hasn't come up in 2e before for us.

Yeah thats the problem as I see it: In 1st Ed if you couldnt use it then it would be a minor inconveneience, in 2nd Ed its crippling to the point of virtually handing your opponent the game in most situations (depending how much is in hyperspace with jump engines). Also not putting JPs within 14" of the edge is all well and good but on most board sizes (in particular the smaller 3' x 3' ones that tend to get used at tourneys that is actually pretty much limiting you to center of the table to the point where its not really worth USING the jump point. Lets be honest most times you jump in you want to do so behind the enemy or on the flanks.
 
We run it that the ships using that jump point have to move on from that point on the table edge, but the point itself is not present.

-Bry
 
Locutus9956 said:
Burger said:
We play that it scatters off the table and you can't use it. But, that was in 1e, when the scatter was only 2d6 and you could just open another in 2 turns. It hasn't come up in 2e before for us.

Yeah thats the problem as I see it: In 1st Ed if you couldnt use it then it would be a minor inconveneience, in 2nd Ed its crippling to the point of virtually handing your opponent the game in most situations (depending how much is in hyperspace with jump engines). Also not putting JPs within 14" of the edge is all well and good but on most board sizes (in particular the smaller 3' x 3' ones that tend to get used at tourneys that is actually pretty much limiting you to center of the table to the point where its not really worth USING the jump point. Lets be honest most times you jump in you want to do so behind the enemy or on the flanks.

You use a 3 foot by 3 foot table at tourneys? :shock:


Dave
 
I personally dont but alot of people over here seem to for some reason (or it might be 4' by 4' thinking about it, its still quite small though)
 
Mongoose Steele said:
We run it that the ships using that jump point have to move on from that point on the table edge, but the point itself is not present.

-Bry

I like that ruling, makes sense, would still like a definitive answer from Matt though.
 
I've never seen a 3'x3' table... thats way too small IMO. Ours are 4'x4' due to weight issues, and to make them fit in a car.
 
Burger said:
I've never seen a 3'x3' table... thats way too small IMO. Ours are 4'x4' due to weight issues, and to make them fit in a car.

Dang, I am spoiled. I have never played on a table smaller than 4x6, and have played on a table as large as 6x10.


Dave
 
I'd still not say we've got anything I would consider a definitive answer to the original question folks, and what with several tournaments upcoming it would be nice to know....
 
Mongoose_Steele is official as Matt has said before. Unless you want to pm Matt and see if he responds differently, since with so many replies Matt won't look at it unless asked.
 
armbarred said:
Mongoose_Steele is official as Matt has said before. Unless you want to pm Matt and see if he responds differently, since with so many replies Matt won't look at it unless asked.
I take Bry's answers as official if he states "this is how it works". But if he says "this is how we do it" then I take it as unofficial but usually the most sensible/fair way.
 
Back
Top