ActA drifting Boresight/Stationary target question

The_Mhor

Mongoose
Hi,

This situation just came up in a game of ACTA, and I wanted some clarification.

A Warlock boresighted a Ka Bin Tak, inflicting a -4 speed crit leaving it unable to move. The Ka Bin Tak then returned fire knocking the Warlock drifting at 2" per turn. Three turns pass with the Warlock Boresight beaming the KBT every turn (meaning it is still directly aligned with the KBT) until they touch. If the Warlock drifts into the KBT does it count as a ram, do the ships stop moving touching each other, or does the Warlock just drift past the KBT despite being on boresight?

If there is an impact should it count as a full ram (half Damage AD, SAP, TD) or lesser as the ramming vessel is not under power?
 
The only way to ram is by using the special action. So, it would just drift right past!
(Remember ACTA is pseudo-3D, so the 2 ships aren't necessarily on a collision course)
 
Yes, but if I have the ship in Boresight for several turns while I drift then I must heading right for it. (If it wasn't for the whole boresight arc thing then the question wouldn't have arisen at all!) Unless it's assumed that boresight weapons can rake up and down by design, but need a special action to rake left and right. :?

As it was the KBT had my Warlock in it's Aft Boresight, so even if he'd been adrift too (which without the -4 speed would have put left him at 1" per turn due to other damage) I still would still have hit him eventually...


Also since counters/models can't overlap how would you resolve drifting past (at 2"/turn) without moving the pieces to overlap? Should you move too fast or stop short? Or can pieces overlap if the movement isn't by choice?

{And before you say it, yes, I have been accused of "overthinking" things in games... :roll:}
 
The rules don't allow for "accidental" ramming. Technically you might be right, they are heading straight for each other, so should collide. But according to the rules, they don't, and that is what Rulesmasters is about. If you want to house-rule that they do collide then go for it, but remember it would be a house rule and not used in any official or tournament games.

Can't remember if you stop short or overshoot at the moment. I think it is in one of the books, though, or maybe an old rulesmasters thread...
 
Back
Top