A Rule question

kyrolon

Mongoose
This one came up tonight in a Fed vs Gorn battle. See what you all think.

We have three ships, 2 Fed and 1 Gorn. The Feds (ship A & B) and the Gorn (ship X) are exchanging fire.

Ship A fires at Ship X, and manages to cripple it. In the course of this fire, ship X fires several phasers in defense of itself against drones.

Ship B now fires at Ship X. Being crippled, X is limited to firing one weapon system. Now here's the question.

Do the systems fired earlier in the fire phase count against this limit, or is it one system only from that time on ignoring anything that already fired?

We played it that of the 2 remaining phasers only 1 could fire, and that the previous weapons were ignored.

Input appreciated.
 
The Rule is the Crippled ship can only ATTACK with one Weapon System. Defensive Fire is unaffected.

If the Damage score is brought to this threshold level or below, the ship is considered to be Crippled. Turn scores will be doubled, while Super-Manoeuvrable ships will be reduced to Turn 6. In addition, a Crippled ship may only move a maximum of 6 inches in a turn and only one weapon system may be used while attacking. Finally, roll a D6 for every trait the ship possesses – on the roll of a 4 or more, the trait will be destroyed.
 
Second Rambler's response.

In SFB terms, on the turn you get crippled you still have some energy left in the phaser capacitor ot batteries or reserve energy (etc etc, you get thei dea) and enough functional weapon systems to fire one weapon bank off despite the previous defensive fire.

Yes, its a simplification.
 
Interesting. Since the dice you roll are called "Attack Dice" we figured that was refering to the act of firing phasers at all since you still roll AD.

A clause to clarify it sating something like, "weapons may still be used in defensive fire" would have been nice.
 
Back
Top