A question about destroyed ships in ACTA:SF

billclo

Mongoose
We ran into a situation that I wanted to get a clarification on.

A F5 was destroyed, and when we rolled the die to determine it's fate, we got the result "adrift, explodes at the end of the next movement phase".

The question is, can the F5 still fire weapons during the turn it is "nominally" destroyed? We temporarily ruled that since the ship is still on the map that turn, that it could. But an official ruling would be nice to have.

A second question: since the F5 explodes at the end of the movement phase, could it conduct a special action, such as engage tractor or Transport Marines just before it blows up?
 
I'm pretty sure the ship counts as being destroyed the instant it takes damage in excess of its hull. The result you rolled just means it doesn't blow up right away.

-Tim
 
AdmiralGrafSpee said:
I'm pretty sure the ship counts as being destroyed the instant it takes damage in excess of its hull.

Indeed the first line of the text for the table stated the ship counts as destroyed as soon as hull goes to zero. Any extra simply affects the boom-de-boom chance.

Given the rules also clearly state that the ship cannot be targetted at all from that point on, it would seem unreasonable to then allow it fire itself, even if the rules wer not clear on its 'destroyed' status.
 
Back
Top