Why is software included in ship maintainance cost?

Discuss the Traveller RPG and its many settings
FraNe91
Weasel

Why is software included in ship maintainance cost?

Postby FraNe91 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 1:43 pm

Hello everyone, I'm new here so I introduce myself! :mrgreen:
I'm Francisco and I'm from Italy (any Italian fellow here around here?) and it's little time I started playing rpg. I started two years ago as a Dungeonslayers game master in a campaign that lasted two years and ended badly (or better said, didn't ended at all).
After that I decided I would finally start my Traveller campaign with different players. I can say I know really few things in respect of the Traveller official setting, mostly what's in the Spinward Marches campaign and what you can found around in the internet and in the Traveller wiki.
My Traveller campaign will be sandbox style -very different from my previous railroaded fantasy campaign- and located (for now) in the Vilis subsector. We haven't started still, but I hope that we will within the next two weeks.

This said I'll make my first newbie question: why is software included in ship maintenance cost?
What if I upgrade the software or buy more?
I can see no reason of this, because it's a separate thing from the main computer whereof its maintenance cost is already included.

Oh, and regarding my grammar... ignore it :D

Thanks!
Frane
~What it is stated without a proof can be negated without a proof, with the exceptions of Dungeon Master statements.

"I never broke the rules! I am the rules!"
rust
Chief Mongoose

Re: Why is software included in ship maintainance cost?

Postby rust » Fri Nov 29, 2013 1:55 pm

FraNe91 wrote: This said I'll make my first newbie question: why is software included in ship maintenance cost?
Well, one has to pay for all those patches and updates required to
keep the software running smoothly ... :shock:

More seriously, I also see no convincing reason to pay maintenance