Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Discuss the Traveller RPG and its many settings
Prodromoi
Shrew
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 2:34 pm
Location: Somerset, England

Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby Prodromoi » Wed Sep 04, 2019 1:54 pm

On page 44 of the Starter Rules book 1(probably the same page in the CRB) it states "A Traveller gets one Benefit roll for every full term served in that career."

Fair enough. Serve 4 terms in the Navy, get 4 rolls at mustering out benefits (plus any bonuses from rank).

But what if a character goes to a military academy first and then progresses into the corresponding career? Would going to Naval Academy, followed by 3 terms in the Navy count the same as the above example - four terms?

I feel that it should; the student/trainee officer will be square-bashing, running around the athletics track, and going on exercises just like a normal recruit, as well as attempting to be more studious. He, or she, will be wearing their brand new uniform on parade and keeping those buttons polished. However by the RAW, it is technically a different career; Naval Academy is not the "Navy career".

If the student were to go to University, this certainly wouldn't count as a career term for mustering out, and it has no muster out table of its own. However I feel that the military academies are sufficiently different, and counting towards a mustering out bonus (which can vary from trivial to outstanding) is a hidden perk.
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3868
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby AnotherDilbert » Wed Sep 04, 2019 2:32 pm

By RAW no.

Military Academy is a type of Pre-Career Education and:
Core, p14, Pre-Career Education wrote: Unlike a career, there is no mustering out or gaining of anything else other than the benefits listed.
Prodromoi
Shrew
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 2:34 pm
Location: Somerset, England

Re: Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby Prodromoi » Wed Sep 04, 2019 2:46 pm

AnotherDilbert wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2019 2:32 pm
By RAW no.

Military Academy is a type of Pre-Career Education and:
Core, p14, Pre-Career Education wrote: Unlike a career, there is no mustering out or gaining of anything else other than the benefits listed.
Ah, I'd missed that bit tucked away in the middle of a paragraph. Thanks.
ShawnDriscoll
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 2927
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby ShawnDriscoll » Thu Sep 05, 2019 3:40 am

Prodromoi wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2019 1:54 pm
On page 44 of the Starter Rules book 1(probably the same page in the CRB) it states "A Traveller gets one Benefit roll for every full term served in that career."

But what if a character goes to a military academy first and then progresses into the corresponding career?
The keyword you're looking for is career. Probably the most important thing that the Mongoose Traveller system has.
Condottiere
Chief Mongoose
Posts: 7370
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:23 pm

Re: Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby Condottiere » Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:33 pm

As I understand four year military academies, for a free education and a head start in the promotion game, you are obligated to a minimum term of service.
Linwood
Lesser Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:41 am

Re: Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby Linwood » Sun Sep 15, 2019 7:51 pm

Always wondered why Traveller doesn’t mandate that, since it fits current real world policy. I suppose you could have a society where the military academies produce more graduates than they have active-duty positions available. Maybe those would be the equivalent of reserve or half-pay commissions, on the hook to be called back to active duty in time of war?

Hmmmm...
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3868
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby AnotherDilbert » Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:34 am

Linwood wrote: Always wondered why Traveller doesn’t mandate that,
Most editions of Traveller does mandate that, just not MgT2, e.g.
T5.09, p42 wrote: Service Academies (Military Academy and Naval Academy) are Colleges for the armed forces: in addition to a degree, they provide graduates an Army or Navy Commission (a Naval Academy graduate may choose a Marine Commission instead). The character is required to serve one term in the service. At the end of that term, the character may try to continue, or may attempt any other career available (he is in the Reserves).
Linwood
Lesser Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:41 am

Re: Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby Linwood » Mon Sep 16, 2019 11:24 am

Thanks, AnotherDilbert!

I’m still pondering thoughts on reserve commissions. Maybe the easiest way to simulate that is if your character has a short career in one of the six careers that are part of the draft and end up submitting to the draft in a later term, they can elect to be drafted back into their previous career (called up to serve) rather than the random roll.
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3868
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby AnotherDilbert » Mon Sep 16, 2019 12:05 pm

Reserves being recalled should be at the need of the service, not individual choice?

Perhaps baked into the Survival/Reenlistment roll? Natural 12: Mandatory reenlistment in current career, Natural 11: Reserve recall?
Moppy
Greater Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 924
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 12:42 pm

Re: Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby Moppy » Mon Sep 16, 2019 12:33 pm

Voluntary re-enlistment after 1 or 2 terms away should be fine and you should be prioritised above new conscripts. You're trained, and you want it.

The roll to go back in is probably close to automatic success, unless you did something bad or they're full (not likely in this setting).

edit: Assuming still age-appropriate. If you have some useful skill beyond "go where told, shoot where pointed" or higher rank, it would be easier.
Condottiere
Chief Mongoose
Posts: 7370
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:23 pm

Re: Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby Condottiere » Sun Sep 22, 2019 9:04 am

Under the modern U.S. Naval ROTC system, graduates become active duty officers, rather than reserve officers, and are required to serve a term of 5 years for the Navy Option and 4 years for the Marine and Nurse Options. The Naval Reserve Officer Training Corps commissions individuals into either the United States Navy as an Ensign or the United States Marine Corps as a Second Lieutenant. While attending college, these prospective officer candidates are known as Midshipmen. Whereas Naval Academy Midshipmen are on active duty, NROTC Midshipmen are in the Navy Reserve but are on active duty for periods of training during the summer. The primary difference is that NROTC Midshipmen attend an ordinary civilian college or university, whereas Naval Academy Midshipmen attend the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD, which is a much more regimented, military environment.
Starting in 2009, the scholarship program was changed to narrowly favor STEM degrees at the expense of the humanities.[2]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests