Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Discuss the Traveller RPG and its many settings
Prodromoi
Shrew
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 2:34 pm
Location: Somerset, England

Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby Prodromoi » Wed Sep 04, 2019 1:54 pm

On page 44 of the Starter Rules book 1(probably the same page in the CRB) it states "A Traveller gets one Benefit roll for every full term served in that career."

Fair enough. Serve 4 terms in the Navy, get 4 rolls at mustering out benefits (plus any bonuses from rank).

But what if a character goes to a military academy first and then progresses into the corresponding career? Would going to Naval Academy, followed by 3 terms in the Navy count the same as the above example - four terms?

I feel that it should; the student/trainee officer will be square-bashing, running around the athletics track, and going on exercises just like a normal recruit, as well as attempting to be more studious. He, or she, will be wearing their brand new uniform on parade and keeping those buttons polished. However by the RAW, it is technically a different career; Naval Academy is not the "Navy career".

If the student were to go to University, this certainly wouldn't count as a career term for mustering out, and it has no muster out table of its own. However I feel that the military academies are sufficiently different, and counting towards a mustering out bonus (which can vary from trivial to outstanding) is a hidden perk.
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3805
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby AnotherDilbert » Wed Sep 04, 2019 2:32 pm

By RAW no.

Military Academy is a type of Pre-Career Education and:
Core, p14, Pre-Career Education wrote: Unlike a career, there is no mustering out or gaining of anything else other than the benefits listed.
Prodromoi
Shrew
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 2:34 pm
Location: Somerset, England

Re: Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby Prodromoi » Wed Sep 04, 2019 2:46 pm

AnotherDilbert wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2019 2:32 pm
By RAW no.

Military Academy is a type of Pre-Career Education and:
Core, p14, Pre-Career Education wrote: Unlike a career, there is no mustering out or gaining of anything else other than the benefits listed.
Ah, I'd missed that bit tucked away in the middle of a paragraph. Thanks.
ShawnDriscoll
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 2912
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby ShawnDriscoll » Thu Sep 05, 2019 3:40 am

Prodromoi wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2019 1:54 pm
On page 44 of the Starter Rules book 1(probably the same page in the CRB) it states "A Traveller gets one Benefit roll for every full term served in that career."

But what if a character goes to a military academy first and then progresses into the corresponding career?
The keyword you're looking for is career. Probably the most important thing that the Mongoose Traveller system has.
Condottiere
Chief Mongoose
Posts: 7334
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:23 pm

Re: Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby Condottiere » Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:33 pm

As I understand four year military academies, for a free education and a head start in the promotion game, you are obligated to a minimum term of service.
Linwood
Lesser Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:41 am

Re: Does a term at academy count as a term for mustering out?

Postby Linwood » Sun Sep 15, 2019 7:51 pm

Always wondered why Traveller doesn’t mandate that, since it fits current real world policy. I suppose you could have a society where the military academies produce more graduates than they have active-duty positions available. Maybe those would be the equivalent of reserve or half-pay commissions, on the hook to be called back to active duty in time of war?

Hmmmm...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests