Mixing Stun and Physical damage

Discuss the Traveller RPG and its many settings
Lesser Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 722
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:16 pm

Mixing Stun and Physical damage

Postby paltrysum » Wed Mar 27, 2019 8:53 pm

If a character has his END reduced to zero using a Stun weapon and then recovers only to be, let's say, shot with a gauss pistol, reducing his STR and DEX to zero, does he die? Or do you count Stun and Physical damage separately?

Here are the rules listed for Stun: "If the target’s END is reduced to 0, the target will be incapacitated and unable to perform any actions for a number of rounds by which the damage exceeded his END. Damage received from Stun weapons is completely healed by one hour of rest."

So in the scenario above, let's suppose he recovers from the stun, but doesn't get the rest immediately and is then attacked again, receiving Physical damage. I'm not sure the rules are clear on how you attribute the damage. Any ideas?
My published Traveller adventures on DriveThruRPG:
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/browse.php ... %20Griffen
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3868
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Mixing Stun and Physical damage

Postby AnotherDilbert » Thu Mar 28, 2019 9:52 am

I consider them separate.

Both do END damage, use the higher damage of the two to calculate current END.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PFarrell and 32 guests